Best Practices

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by KrisQ, Oct 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KrisQ

KrisQ Member

Hi All - as a newbie, I've been reading everything I can get my hands on. I'm interested in best practices for testing BG. For example: Test, feed, wait 30 minutes and inject; Test, feed, don't wait and inject right after feeding; Test, inject, wait 30 minutes and feed. I've got so much going on in my head that I want to make sure that I'm doing this correctly.

What have you all found that works best - and yes, I realize that things may vary from cat to cat.

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

Here's the basic plan:
    1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
    2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
    3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
    4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your spreadsheet, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
    5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
    Many people test, feed immediately and inject while kitty is eating if he/she has a normal appetite - ie., will eat willingly. Some people allow some time to eat before injecting. The important thing is to remove food for two hours before the pre shot test.

3. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member