BG Levels Going Up During Transition to Raw Food

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by blove7, Aug 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blove7

blove7 Member

Hi,

I have a diabetic cat named Corduroy. I have been feeding him canned MD for the past two years, with pretty good results. However, I've still needed to give him insulin throughout. I have been researching a lot about how a raw food diet can potentially cause cats' diabetes to go into remission, so I ordered Feline's Pride "Raw Made Easy Kit 1." I mix this with ground raw turkey, half thigh and half breast. I have been doing this for about two weeks now. However, his BG levels are higher now than they were when he was on MD. This is also with a lot of ups and downs in between, which has proven very difficult to regulate with the insulin. Last night, he went hypoglycemic, so I had to inject Karo syrup into his mouth. This was after only giving him one unit when his BG was 381. It had dropped down to 67 within four hours, hence the insulin shock. Overall though, since starting this raw food diet, his BG levels have been super high, 300-400 plus. It has made me think that I shouldn't have gone to raw food, and that maybe I should go back to MD. It is quite stressful, because although I don't want his BG to be too high for a long period of time for fear of kidney damage among other things, I also don't want him to go back into a hypoglycemic episode. Does anyone else have experience with this or with Feline's Pride or MD? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    B.

2. katiesmom

katiesmom Member