BG monitor and syringe

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sarai, Jul 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sarai

Sarai New Member

I'm sure it's been asked but I see a lot of info regarding the glucose monitors out there that we should be using. My question is there any in particulur (for example, Relion has several different styles to choose from so I am not sure which one would be best) that we should be using and what type of syringe should I be looking for? Is there a specific brand that most of you guys prefer?

2. Sharon Candido

Sharon Candido New Member

I'm new to all of this but my vet recommended AlphaTrak. I just started using it and its very simple to use. Got it on Amazon for around $55.00

3. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

I think it's a matter of preference and affordability regarding selection of a monitor. We began with a pet monitor, the AlphaTrak2, at the recommendation of the vet. It's a good monitor, but more expensive than some of the human monitors. In addition, you have to order test strips online. If you run out, you have to wait. We decided to buy the Relion Confirm from Walmart, it takes the same tiny blood sample and the strips are not only readily available, but much less expensive. The most important thing is, get something and home test. The monitor is going to tell you if the blood sugar is high or low.

Many members order syringes online and can give you those recommendations. We got syringes from Walmart for about $14.00. We needed syringes with 1/2 unit markings, I ordered the wrong thing online, and couldn't use them, racked up the shipping fee and the return fee :banghead: Then found what we needed at Walmart: Relion 3/10 ml/cc, up to 30 units, 29 Gauge, 12.7 mm (1/2") needle. You will need 1/2 unit marks on the syringes in the event of a dose increase or decrease, which are done in 0.25 units.