Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Debbie in Arkansas

Debbie in Arkansas Member

What range in BG numbers is normal for diabetic cats? I'm sure it is in the forum info but I am still learning my way around.

2. Amanda and a Loudogg

Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

I'm not sure if there is really an official "normal" number or range for diabetic cats, but I like the information I've found on the Vetsulin website regarding insulin treatment: "The aim of treatment is to alleviate clinical signs of diabetes. To achieve this goal, keep blood glucose concentrations below the renal threshold and avoid hypoglycemia. Thus, the goal is to maintain blood glucose concentrations roughly between 120 to 300 mg/dL in cats for the majority of the day." I know I've found different numbers for renal threshold, and I think part of that is because every cat is different. I take renal threshold at about 260-280. I try to keep Lou under this number as much as possible.

3. Debbie in Arkansas

Thank you! So the highest my meter should show if the diabetes is being controlled is 300? We have a ReliOn Confirm.

4. Amanda and a Loudogg

Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

I don't want you to think of it that way (my cat should never go above ___ number), it'll make you go insane. :confused: Especially since sometimes anything can happen in this FD marathon. I was reviewing the FDMB FAQ page, and found the following information regarding regulation that will hopefully help (I like that it provides numbers and symptoms to give you a better idea):

Q6.1. What is regulation?

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
    • Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]