BG Reading challenges, evening only weirdnesses?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by ReneeM787, Jun 1, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ReneeM787

ReneeM787 Member

Ok, I need input from the hive mind with more experience. Peaches spreadsheet is here if you'd like to see it.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1rNwdIhT3e61x_xtjR5dqUbJPBKGqyYN6yLLK5yP7ZBI/edit?usp=sharing

I am new to at home testing, but started practicing before gradually switching her over to high protein food with complete switch on 5/27/20. My first goal is to get her stable, slowly and safely. I have switched her from Novalin 70/30 to ProZinc. I need to be more consistent (set an alarm) to take the 5+ hr number.

But, what I want you to notice and give feedback on is that her evening BG numbers are weirdly low. This week, I've twice given her no insulin in the evening because (while not in the normal or dangerous range), the numbers are so incredibly low FOR HER. Could I be doing something wrong in taking the measurement? I have waited a few minutes between, switched ears, washed hands and cat ears, prayed, said bad words. That exhausts my current bag of tricks... Just now, I took a measurement that was 169, which would be her lowest ever by a hundred. I waited 5 minutes and used the other ear and got 269, which seems more believable. What gives?

jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

I’ll let others more experienced chime in, but I think you’ve got your AMPS and PMPS and Unit columns mixed up. Under “U” you should have the units not the reading that should be under the AMPS and PMPS columns :)