Bob - new to Lantus

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tilou, Feb 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tilou

Tilou Member

Hi folks

Just introducing myself and Bob, who was diagnosed with FD in January. He was on Caninsulin initially but its effects weren't lasting more than 6-8 hours. Even tried TID system but was no better than BID.

Bob was switched to Lantus yesterday and so far so good with his BG now down from high 30s to 20 mmol/L.

Fortunately I have some knowledge of Lantus as DH (diabetic for 35 years) uses it (alongside a faster acting insulin) but will be following discussions here for hints and tips regarding its use for cats.

We are a Scottish family living in France, where our French vet, although a very nice man, is a very traditional farming vet and cats are not the priority on his list. Lantus has only just started to be used here, so he has not provided any information on it.

Thanks for all the info posts - I shall be taking careful note of what is written in them.

Tilou

2. AZJenks

AZJenks Well-Known Member

Welcome! I just wanted to wish you and Bob all the best as you start your Lantus journey. You're so lucky to discover this forum so early in your diagnosis because there are tons of really great and knowledgeable people here to help you out along the way. I hope that Lantus is exactly what Bob needs to get him into remission!

Tilou likes this.
  3. Bobbie And Bubba

Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

Hi there and welcome to the best place you never wanted to be! There is a lot of good information here so I hope when you have a chance you will read all the Lantus stickies. Good job getting the SS set up; it is invaluable to see trends and patterns. When you get a chance can you set up a signature to show at the bottom of every post in grey? Put you cats name ,age, date of DX, any medical issues, meter using, where you are located ( time zone) and any thing else you feel pertinent to Bob .