Bobby has diabetes =(

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Dannigirl, Jun 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dannigirl

Dannigirl New Member

My sweet 6 year-old Bobby was diagnosed with diabetes last week. I took him to the vet because I felt something was wrong: drinking a lot, peeing a lot (and sometimes not in his box,) losing weight, and sullen demeanor. Sure enough, after a physical exam and labs I got the dreaded call confirming my suspicions. I'm a registered nurse, so I'm familiar with treatment for DM in humans, but pretty clueless when it comes to my cat. I think being an RN will help me learn quickly, though. I've already started Lantus 2x/day and the vet gave me a glucometer to test sugars at home. The plan is to do a curve in about 2 weeks. So far Bobby is tolerating his injections really well! He doesn't seem bothered at all. He's a very docile, gentle kitty and I actually think he's digging the extra attention <3.

I'm appalled at the cost involved in this diagnosis. Lantus is so pricy and the vet had inferred that Bobby would necessitate prescription food, which is astronomically expensive. Since visiting the site, I've learned, thankfully, that I can buy wet food from the store in lieu of the Hill's M/D that was forced upon me when I was in the office. I'm also thinking into the future and all the vacations we won't be able to go on. Gone are the days of leaving extra food and water out to take a weekend getaway... Instead we'll likely need to board. They'll probably charge an arm and a leg to board AND administer insulin.