Bone Daddy, you there?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Anonymous, May 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Just checked your SS and would highly reccomend checking kitties numbers by +3..that was a big shot for a much lower # and would hate to see her go too low this early in your learning about things. Are you prepared to give a high carb food if she dips to fast or too low?
    updating...shot 3u's in the amps 400something and 2u's in the pmps at 212 an hour after eatting so glucose could have been lower...newbie here so watching for possible hypo.
    i'm signing off soon so keep an eye out for him, it looks like he tests at 10 pm his time (texas)

2. Plugbait

Plugbait Member

I am new also, but I'm interested and sympathetic to your story, Bone Daddy. How are you? What is the latest news? Hope your Duke is doing well. My Pixie is sleeping on my girlfriend's desk right now. Just tried a new insulin tonight (Levemir) so am stuck up rather late to monitor him.

-Mike 'n' Pixie

3. Bone Daddy

Bone Daddy Member

Thank you for checking in with us.

PMP +5 98

After we test, we give Duke an All Naturals treat (lot's of carbs, but small and the bribe works). Duke was hungry so I gave him some low carb chicken wet food. I"m thinking the food will keep his BS in line overnight. This morning was the first time I tested Dukie by myself. It actually went quite well.

It's funny in that I'm not a newbie by any standards when it comes to relying on a vet to manage Duke's diabetes. Taking him in for emergencies, for monitoring, nursing him back to health when we get him home only to have him crash again, for etc. etc. etc. I'm afraid I have more experience with that than I care to have and that goes double for Duke I'm sure.