Brody--41 at +7

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MsKarilynn, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MsKarilynn

MsKarilynn New Member

I am a bit panicked here, hence the 911. I just tested Brody (it's been 7 hours since his 2 units of insulin) and his number was 41!! That's SO low! He doesn't seem lethargic at all. He's walking around, eating his food, cuddling up against my leg, being his usual self, but I am scared! Is my test wrong? Should I test again? I mean, I'm glad he's lower but this is extremely low!

ETA: Split this topic away from the original DX thread, which is here.

2. Holly and Pablo

Holly and Pablo Member

Re: FD Newbie :)

You only added the 911 to your last post, not the entire thread.

I'm no expert, but yes, TEST AGAIN immediately if you haven't already. 41 is too low to ignore.

Please post what the blood sugar is and edit your original post to add a 911.

3. LynnLee + Mousie

LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

like Holly said, test again immediately to confirm the number

you're still using prozinc right? if it is indeed similar in action to the pzi vet i'm used to it should start pooping out soon. what we'll want you to do is test about every 20-30 minutes for the next hour or so to make sure he's climbing. as far as tonight's dose, we need to get more eyes on this but i'm betting you might be skipping or reducing tonight's shot

4. Dawn & Nova

Dawn & Nova Well-Known Member

I don't know anything about PZI.. so I can't help you there.. except to say that often cats and their moms and dads end up here in a similar situation as you.. following the vets directions..doing dosing based on BG levels at the vet.. which you now know can be artificially elevated numbers from stress.. it's NOT uncommon to have people find out that their cat is on too MUCH insulin.. so don't be surprised if this is the case.