Butters possible hypo episode?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Hi,

Thank you for all of your help already. Please know that I am trying so hard to test Butters' BG as much as I can but mostly her ears still do not want to give up blood.

When I was home today, I jabbed her ears almost every hour. I only got enough for an AMPS, which was 191. Given the slightly low number, I went ahead and shot a slightly lower dose of 1.25U Caninsulin.

I finally got enough blood for another test at +7, and BG was 97. Low, but not hypo low, right? However, about 30 minutes later, Butters started acting weird. She was making a really weird calling out sound that I hadn't heard before, and vomited a little bit of liquid twice. She was wandering around in a strange way. My first thought was, is this a possible hypo episode?

I panicked a bit and rather than try to test her again, I just immediately fed her about 1.5 tsp honey, 1 tbsp high carb wet and 3 grams high carb dry. I tested her shortly after at +8 and she was 106. Then I managed to do another BG at +8.25 and she was and she was at 139, so on the upswing.

Do you think I jumped the gun here? Or did I do the right thing. Also is there anything else I need to be doing?

Thank you.
 
It could possibly have been lower numbers than Butters is used too. There is just no way of telling. You did the cautious thing.

Are you using a lancing device? or freehanding the lancet?
If you are using a device, try turning the dial to the next number. Cat's ears can be thicker than you think. Rover's ears were a 4 on the dial. My finger is a 1 on the same dial. Some people have better luck freehanding.
 
I keep thinking there is some magical way of knowing what is wrong. :(

I switched from freehanding to using the device. I find it easier and the sound doesn't bother her, so win-win I guess! I am up to a 5/5 on the dial, which is the highest. I hope to lower it though as time goes on.
 
I'm using 28 gauge.

She has been acting just like herself since about 20 minutes after I gave her the carbs.
She probably wasn't in actual hypo, but because she's not used to those lower numbers, to her body it felt like it. She's lucky to have you. I promise testing will get easier after a while when the capillaries grow. Now i just have to look at my cat's ears and they bleed. hahahaha 28 gauge is good.
 
bahahah! Maybe one day I will be able to do the same with Butters' ears.

Poor kitty. Hopefully I didn't throw her numbers way up too much. At least I will know for next time. And I will work extra hard to get a PMPS tonight, but do you think I should just keep the dose at 1.25 U regardless, like I have been doing?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top