Calculating insulin after hypoglycemic seizure

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kimora Austin, Feb 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kimora Austin

Kimora Austin New Member

Hey guys need advice....I’m doing a glucose curve at home, I usually send numbers to vet and they give me her insulin adjustment. But yesterday she was like and had a hypoglycemic seizure she was at 6u Lantus with numbers 350-380 at her last curve 1/13. So I did not give insulin until I checked her this morning she was at 311, with a little stress and just had her hills md. How do I figure out how much insulin if any to give her today?
    Thank you so much for all your help as I’m new to at home testing.

2. Tracey&Jones (GA)

Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

That sounds like a very high dose. Can you tell us how you got to that dose? Has she been checked for any high dose conditions like IAA or Acromegaly?

3. Kimora Austin

Kimora Austin New Member

Yes I thought it was high too, that’s what the vet told me to give. Her numbers on 1/13 were 387, 354, and 364 she was on 5u at this time. The curve before that on 12/25 her numbers were 401, 410, 402 and 477 and I believe she was at 3u then. No she has not been checked for those.

4. Tracey&Jones (GA)

I am not experienced in high dose conditions, but I will say with a hypo experience then you need to reduce the dose. She may be more sensitive to insulin and lower numbers now.

With recent low numbers I would say she is in a bounce now.

Do you test at home outside of the curve?

I am going to tag people with more experience then me to see what they say.
    @Wendy&Neko @carfurby

5. Kimora Austin

Kimora Austin New Member