Can Diabetes or Insulin cause appetite loss?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by LadyGrey, Oct 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LadyGrey

LadyGrey New Member

Newbie here! Great source of info here, THANKS!
    I have multiple issues, so may not be cut&dry. William got diagnosed with Diabetes 3 weeks ago, caused by a month of steroids to reduce minor swelling in intestines. (yeah, not good prognosis, but I'm winging it, one issue at a time) Swelling has not advanced, but vet took him off steroids to focus on the diabetes.

William Loves food, and has been on prescription diet for Struvite Crystals most of life, currently on Purina UR. However, since starting injections, 1 unit, twice day, Lantos/Glargin, 3 weeks ago, his appetite has gone way down. I had started him on GlycoBalance both canned and Kibble for treats. I thought it was because of the diet change, he does NOT like GlycoCanned, but now won't eat the Purina, or Royal Canin SO Pate, Loves kibble, but he's starting to back off that. Gotta get food into him before each injection AND in General! Started FancyFeast Classic Pates and babyfood & was okay for a few bites. Just last night a friend spoonfed him and it worked great! did that this morning, but it's still a slow process and Not Normal.
    SO to my question, Can Diabetes or Insulin cause this? Thank you in advance!

2. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member