can I give Fred Lactated Ringers Solution as WATER?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Martica and Fred, Jan 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Martica and Fred

Martica and Fred Member

Since I no longer need to give Fred subcut, I was wondering if this would be a better source of water for him than the distilled for his kidneys? Can I just use this stuff to put in his water dishes and food?

2. Karen & Smokey(GA)

Karen & Smokey(GA) Well-Known Member

I certainly would not do that.

3. Victoria & Sundance

Victoria & Sundance Member

oooh... I don't think that's a good idea... I am not a medical expert but there are ingredients in that stuff that I just wouldn't feel comfortable giving orally - not only due to possible bad taste, but some things, even good things, are absorbed differently when they are administered differently. Who knows how the ingredients will work through the digestive system... I've not found any reference to being able to drink the stuff. It's just not to be used any other way than through a subcutaneous injection.

Here's a page on lactated ringers. If you have bags left which you won't use, either donate them to your vet or the shelter near you or, if purchased from the vet, try to get your money back.

4. paige

paige Well-Known Member

I just have a question---If Fred no longer needs it why would you want to continue to give it to him? It can be given orally but has an unpleasant taste.

5. Martica and Fred

Martica and Fred Member

maybe Dr. Lisa can weigh in....?

I actually have a master's degree and a PhD in (human) nutrition. Not that I know anything :), but to let you know that my thought is an informed one...