can someone look at my 1st 12hr curve

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by AnnieL, Jan 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AnnieL

AnnieL New Member

so this is my first time home testing and doing a curve myself etc...I did a 12 hr curve yesterday morning... It was my first time poking the little guy. I feel like I did ok, though it is tough to hit the capillaries and not the vein with the lancing device.
    Anyhow, so I inserted his results in my spreadsheet but feel like they are wrong; shouldn't the numbers go lower in the middle somewhere instead of the end like his seemed to go???

thanks for any opinions/advice

Annie

2. StephG

StephG Well-Known Member

How long has he been on the 2 unit dose?
    How do you feed? Do you free feed or give small meals throughout the day? I see in your signature that he gets dry food- what kind, how much, and when?

Usually "high and flat" means they can benefit from a dose increase but the other questions I asked will help to determine that. I don't use the AlphaTrak so I'm not sure if it has the 20% variance in readings that the human meters have. But if it does those numbers can be considered the same reading because they're all in the 20% variance.

Normally you might see a slight increase after a meal then around +2 or +3 the numbers start to drop and hit their lowest or Nadir at or around +6. I don't see that at all on your curve. But if he's free feeding on dry food that is high in carbs this can influence the numbers a lot so as long as he eats high carb dry food he might need an increased dose.

The "Pros" are usually not very active during the nighttime hours so they will probably give their opinion in the morning.

Congrats on your first home curve!

3. AnnieL

AnnieL New Member