Cat not drinking much water...help!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Max99, Jun 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Max99

Max99 Member

Hi all,

I’ve just realised now that my cat hasn’t drank that much water today and is refusing to drink. I’ve given her an ice cube, which she usually loves, I’ve flavoured it was zylkiene, again which she usually loves... My vets is closed now, opens tomorrow morning. I’ve done the pinch test and I think it shows she’s dehydrated! I’ve syringed some water into her mouth now (a syringe without a needle!) but I just wondered if it was safe to give her some water like I do her insulin, just to get her through the night? Thanks all.

P.s. she is eating (it’s dried food (she’s allergic to the wet foods I’ve tried!) and I’ve been soaking the food in water as much as I can before it falls apart! Thanks.

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

I am no expert, but I would not think you should inject water like you do insulin, if I'm reading correctly. SubQ or subcutaneous fluid injection is a different process with the proper fluids. Until you get some additional responses by more experienced members, I only would advise to keep offering water, maybe some diluted water drained from tuna can? Maybe a different bowl, ceramic instead of plastic, etc. I have not done syringe feeding, so I can't advise on that, except to be careful to just get into the side of her mouth and not directly down her throat.

3. Max99

Max99 Member

Ok thanks. Yeah, I give her medication orally in a syringe so I’m used to giving liquids and putting them down the side of her mouth. I’ve managed to encourage her to drink a little out of my hand. I haven’t tried offering water on a plate yet, I’ll try that now. Thanks again. :)

Noah & me (GA) likes this.
  4. Idjit's mom

You are very welcome, please keep posting so that we know how she's (and you) are doing. Crossing paws.

5. Noah & me (GA)