Cat recently diagnosed with diabetes. First Post

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sev, Nov 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I picked it all up today.
    First test prior to eating was 441. About 1/2 hour after eating was 480.
     
  2. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ugh, not too good ..... what about testing for ketones? With such high numbers, it's wise to test for ketones... problems could crop up fast, so best to know as soon as possible.
    Be sure to test when you get even just a trace on the stix.
     
  3. Raggie Doll

    Raggie Doll Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    thats about the same as what I'm getting for Tilly although i was shocked to learn no ketones as she has had high numbers for a while
     
  4. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Still on the learning curve.
    10:00PM test came in at 381.
     
  5. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
  6. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think some cats are fortunate that they don't have ketone issues; I don't know why but neither of mine had problems.
    I think if a cat is prone though, it's a good idea to test regularly, even if not at high numbers.

    If you can post your BG numbers to state how long after the shot, it will be helpful.
    If you shot 1u at 8pm, that's your pmps BG
    At 10pm, that 381 would be the +2 BG number.

    If you do a curve, below can help to explain the numbers you get.

    Example of a typical curve:
    +0 - PreShot number.
    +1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
    +2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
    +3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
    +4 - Lower.
    +5 - Lower.
    +6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
    +7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
    +8 - Slight rise.
    +9 - Slight rise.
    +10 - Rising.
    +11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
    +12 - PreShot number.
     
  7. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
  8. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    PMPS was about 7PM 441
    + .5 was 7:30 480
    +3 was 10PM +381
     
  9. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I have no experience with Prozinc, only Caninsulin which was lousy, Lantus and Levemir which are both longer lasting.

    If you are still on Prozinc and have such high numbers after over a week, I would think you are overdue to up that dose, but not being familiar with this insulin I certainly don't know more than to say those BG numbers are much too high.

    It would be a great idea if you set up a google spreadsheet so you can track cat's numbers, and also allow for others to view the numbers and give you a hand with how to proceed. You will find the spreadsheet an excellent tool for spotting trends to guide you on cat's progress.
     
  10. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    (441 - 381)/3 hours = 20 points an hour. It'd be nice to thing that doubling the dose would drop 40 points an hour ... but it might not ... or it might. If you can, get a +6 which may be close to the nadir.

    I'd agree with increasing the dose, but use caution in doing so, for example going up to 1.5 units of Prozinc at the next shot time. Insulin dose adjustment math has nonlinear results.

    (off to bed now)
     
  11. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    I am inclined to agree.

    7:00 AMPS 433 +0
    7:10 1 unit given.
    505 +1
     
  12. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Have never set up a spread sheet online.
    This appears to involve coding.
     
  13. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Sev

    Instructions for using the spreadsheet template which was created in Google Docs are in the Tech forum here:
    How to Create Your Own SS and Publish It in Your Signature

    It isn't quite like Excel, and sometimes folks have issues getting it to work. For a bastardized example, you can click Spitzer's link in my signature - I re-ordered the glucose ranges so that they went from low to high in a right to left order ... not that I'm compulsive or anything!
     
  14. Sev

    Sev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Thank you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page