Panic June 2nd PMPS 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

Panic

Very Active Member
Sorry I hope this is an appropriate use of 911 but I have to go to work in less than an hour!!

Kept kitty in last night so she could eat throughout the night, she ate all her night snacks, I put her out about 7AM this morning. She was at the door like usual at 9AM, I let her in to eat and she didn't seem interested. I went outside to feed the rest of the animals, found some vomit but multi-cat household, not sure who it was. Vomit is normal, no blood.

Came back in, she hasn't eaten but staying at the water bowl drinking...found more vomit on the carpet, don't think she's touched the food I set out though. AMPS reads 427, she didn't squirm during testing like she normally does.

Did not get a reading last night (sorry!), reading today, yesterday, and day before were done on Alphatrak. She's on 4u but we think she's been bouncing. Do I half her dose or skip it? No one at home can test but me, not sure if I should call out of work...
 
Okay, breathe!!! You got this.

Sometimes when my sugar cat’s BGL is high, she’s not as hungry. And she’s going to be very thirsty when that happens, too. How much can you get her to eat?

Any possibility of testing for ketones?
 
She won't eat anything, I just put some Parmesan cheese down and she doesn't want it. She's laying down under the table now where she likes to chill.

She threw up quite a bit since she did it twice, must have been her night snacks. Dog was eating it >.<

I don't have any strips, she's mainly an outdoor cat so don't catch her peeing often. :(
 
My vet is closed today. There's a 24 hour vet about 45 minutes out but idk if I could afford it.
 
I am yes. I don't have a syringe to feed her with unfortunately. I cracked open an egg and she lapped at the egg white a couple times. I just put down some PureBites freeze dried chicken and she seems interested in it.

Thank you for helping me.
 
She ate the handful of PureBites I put down, I offered her some Fancy Feast and sprinkled more PureBites on it and she's slowly working on it! She's taking breaks after every couple bites but she's finally eating! Should I wait a half hour to make sure it stays down and give her maybe 2 units? I called my work and said I either wasn't coming in today or would come in late, depending on how she does so I have more time.
 
I am yes. I don't have a syringe to feed her with unfortunately. I cracked open an egg and she lapped at the egg white a couple times. I just put down some PureBites freeze dried chicken and she seems interested in it.

Thank you for helping me.
SO glad she is eating some!
Have you looked at the qualifications for receiving assistance from Diabetic Cats in Need?
 
She ate the handful of PureBites I put down, I offered her some Fancy Feast and sprinkled more PureBites on it and she's slowly working on it! She's taking breaks after every couple bites but she's finally eating! Should I wait a half hour to make sure it stays down and give her maybe 2 units? I called my work and said I either wasn't coming in today or would come in late, depending on how she does so I have more time.

I would prefer someone with experience with vetsulin offer dosing advice, but if ketones are a risk, I would be reticent to skip a dose completely. Definitely wait a bit and see what she keeps down.
 
She decided she was done for now, hopefully she'll eat more. I haven't looked into it yet but I definitely will after this blows over!
 
Reread initial post.
If you have half-dosed in the past successfully, I would still dose something. (Assuming she has eaten enough and is keeping something down.) Her numbers are fairly high so far but there’s not a lot of data. I used NPH before and that was faster-acting, and Vetsulin is similar I believe. I will review some Vetsulin-specific info though. Can you get ketostix and please keep her in today? Get a urine sample? She may not love staying in but it will benefit her. She may also be vomiting because she got into something (just a background thing to consider), or she may have an infection. I would absolutely bring her in to your regular vet tomorrow if nowhere else today.
 
Last time she didn't eat enough (no vomit involved) I took her to the vet and she tested over 600 so they told me to dose her 4u anyway, and if she still didn't eat enough for the next cycles (this was over the weekend so I couldn't call) to just give her 2u.

I will try to get some ketostix today if I feel comfortable enough to separate myself from her. I'm out in the middle of no where, nearest Walmart is 30 min
 
Thank you! I really wish this wasn't happening on the weekend when my vet is closed. :(
 
Right Cassandra!! I feel like I could hug you right now, I wasn't planning on being so stressed so I appreciate you sticking with us this morning!

let her finish the food, wait 30 min, test and post the number on here.
Hold on to the shot just yet .

Absolutely, thank you! She is munching away again, looks like she definitely ate at least half so maybe around 11ish or a bit after I'll test and post!
 
@Panic we have allll been there!!!! I spent mother’s day testing every 20-30 minutes some hours and propping Alice’s sugar, and I had three moms to visit I skipped. I just had to be mom myself for the day. No one plans it. But you can get through it. I barely slept for five weeks but it paid off because Alice is so happy again. You’ll get through. And you’re on a better track than I was before.

Next time you leave the house absolutely do try and get some ketone test strips. I wish I had them before Alice’s DKA event!

ETA: I wouldn’t be where I am now without the help I found here and through DCIN. We learn as we go and support each other as a community and we can make things better. I am glad to be able to give a little back. I’ve gotten so much.
 
I just had to be mom myself for the day.

That is exactly right LOL. Glad I'm not alone, and glad this site isn't down on the weekends baha!
I will definitely pick some up today, I thiiiink I'm going to be going to work after all (albeit a couple hours late) but I was going to Walmart afterwards to pick up some Fancy Feast...I was going to get my regular Relion strips but both my Walmarts seem to be out of stock!! Hopefully they'll have the ketone strips though.

Panic just slurped up a good bit of the egg white I had sitting out too. Not sure what all this was about, she ate both her night snacks and seemed chill when I put her out this morning before breakfast...there was a dead chipmunk by the porch but it didn't looked nibbled on and I bet it was my young tomcat who caught it. Don't know what else could have made her nauseous.
 
so, were today's tests taken using AlphaTrack?
The Remarks in the SS says it was done yesterday and I wasn't clear about it.

I edited my post earlier, not sure if you saw, but I ran out of Relion strips Friday, so Friday, Saturday, and today are all Alphatrak strips. I don't know the best way to customize my SS to make it easier for others to see if I used a different meter other than just remarks.

will you be able to stay late enough to take +2.5 or +3.5 test?

I mean technically I told my boss I was either calling out or coming in late, so theoretically I could stay that late if needed. Do you think I should get a +2 at minimum? My brother is home but he does not test.
 
I edited my post earlier, not sure if you saw, but I ran out of Relion strips Friday, so Friday, Saturday, and today are all Alphatrak strips. I don't know the best way to customize my SS to make it easier for others to see if I used a different meter other than just remarks.



I mean technically I told my boss I was either calling out or coming in late, so theoretically I could stay that late if needed. Do you think I should get a +2 at minimum? My brother is home but he does not test.

I will find someone and tag them who could maybe help you with the spreadsheet....
ETA:
@Marje and Gracie helped me with some issues with mine.

Yes please get a +2! Data is important when something is out of the ordinary!
 
I mean technically I told my boss I was either calling out or coming in late, so theoretically I could stay that late if needed. Do you think I should get a +2 at minimum?
I want you to take test 30 min after eating to see the food bump and to make sure the food stays in.

If she is willing to eat later I would give the regular 4 U dose, feed some more LC and take the next test at +2 and post here. If she lower and you gotta go then feed some more and take "in the door" tst and post it here.
Is it doable?
 
I've been here off and on all morning but as still a newbie, reluctant to say anything about dosing, though I've gotten rather familiar with Vetsulin :rolleyes:
could she have gotten into grass and munched? doesn't seem to take much to trigger vomiting, weed seeds too

you might want to order some of the Prime test strips online from Walmart to have next time you need to use extras,
I notice some Walmarts seem to be stocking fewer of the Prime strips, and most are out of the ones I use (for the Confirm/Micro) --
these others ARE available online and RolledBack (aka closing out)

Walmart here seems to get the last of the stocks -- there actually are 3 boxes of the Confirm/Micro on the shelf, and what looks like 6 more behind counter
didn't see any Prime strips on the shelf, but looked like some behind counter (the WM here is not a super type one)

oh, Fancy Feast -- at Walmart, cheaper if you buy the classic pate assortment rather than the individual cans, of course cheaper yet from Chewy,
I get the poultry/beef assortment even though several of those do have fish as an ingredient

:bighug: and encouragement, you can do this
 
Just tested, she is at 480 on Alphatrak.
and after a handfull of High Carbs treats, is it correct?

I would give her her full 4U dose and test at +2.5 and post it here.

If your brother at home and can keep an eye on her it is awesome. He can feed her a little if she hungry any time during the cycle.

What do you think about full dose?
 
Low-carb treats, they are PureBites freeze-dried chicken. Gave her a handful and she ate most, I added what she didn't eat to the Fancy Feast breakfast she eventually ate. I just offered her another small chunk of Fancy Feast and she took it. I think now I'd be comfortable giving a full dose but she's also been bouncing possibly from too much insulin...I know that's another annoying variable to add but her normal dose is indeed 4u. Does it sound alright to give her full amount then?

I will stay for the +2.5 and post. Would it be okay to go to work after that, or does it depend on her numbers later? My boss wanted me to keep him updated on whether I could come in.
 
I would give her her full 4U dose and test at +2.5 and post it here.
It is hard to be certain without the second half of the picture but I think it is reasonable with the data recorded to expect lowering around +3 or +5 which could mean that the +2.5 test will show us downward movement. If so - feed a little extra LC to avoid fast drops ad retest in 1.5 hours if ate wet LC food or in 2 hours if dry kibble. Small portions better for diabetics and slow down drops preventing future bouncing.
 
Here’s some love and encouragement from my ginger boys. :bighug:
You’re doing great!
 

Attachments

  • ACE10BEF-76EB-45E3-BB2B-2A0A6049901F.jpeg
    ACE10BEF-76EB-45E3-BB2B-2A0A6049901F.jpeg
    63.8 KB · Views: 142
I think now I'd be comfortable giving a full dose
I will stay for the +2.5 and post.
I'll see you then (but I will post something about housekeeping , please read).

Would it be okay to go to work after that, or does it depend on her numbers later?
I think it'll be ok to leave (engage your brother for feeding for today if the numbers going down) but my cat proves wrong often enough to say "let's wait for that post +2.5 test".
 
one more comment, more for you than for Panic -- remember, the AlphaTrak and the ReliOn test values will be further and further apart, the higher the BG is -- so don't let those higher numbers on the AlphaTrak meter, get you into a panic (deliberate snicker, you need humor as well when scared and stressed) -- the number if you had the ReliOn strips available, might have been as much as 70-80 less -- I know this because vet and I did simultaneous tests at her clinic with our two meters, cat was stressed, her meter read 326, mine read 270
 
I've been here off and on all morning but as still a newbie, reluctant to say anything about dosing, though I've gotten rather familiar with Vetsulin :rolleyes:
could she have gotten into grass and munched? doesn't seem to take much to trigger vomiting, weed seeds too

I understand, thank you for lurking anyway! I'd be the same way.
Totally possible but she's never done it before so who knows! My dog who is obsessed with food and ate Panic's puke (yuck) is acting unhungry now too...could be a fluke or maybe she did get into something.

I went to not my normal Walmart on Friday and all the Prime strips were sold out but they had plenty of Confirm/Micro! So I was going to go to my normal Walmart after work today, online they say in-stock but just for kicks I did "pick up in store" last night to see if it would say they're in...they're not >:T Says they'll be in Tuesday!

I get the 30 can Poultry/Beef pack at Walmart, I thought Chewy charged the same amount?? Is it really cheaper?

And about the meters, yes absolutely! I have a little "rough" guide somewhere where it states what the "rough" difference is between the two types - further for big numbers, closer for little. :)

@Tanya and Ducia
Thank you so much for all your help! I shot her but wouldn't you know it, fur was wet so hopefully she got enough in her system (I even checked to make sure it stuck in her skin - darn beautiful long haired cat!) and I will let you know! Should I only do a +2.5 test? Also why that time and not sooner or later? Just curious!
I may or may not leave later anyway...our store closes at 6 and I live an hour out so +2.5 test and leaving will get me there around 3 LOL. I'll leave it up to my boss to decide.

@AliceMeowliss&Cassandra I love your ginger boys!! Give them a snuggle for me! I will have to show you my ginger kitties, they always have a special place in my heart <3
 
If you had given the dose I'd like to ask you to update the spreadsheet so everyone is updated in one glimpse:
highlight the entire row of cell for May 31, then Insert on the menu panel and click on "Insert Row Above".
A new blank row will - type in capital letter "Using Alphatrack" and safe the changes.
(When yo are back on Relion meter - repeat but type using Relion.)

For today's events: In the AMPS cell put 427 @+12; 480 @+13 (if you were late the full hour, or whatever time has lapsed since usual shot time to the actual this AM shot time). The background color will go and yo have to manually color it back using Paint Bucket Icon on the menu panel.

I am not being stuffy - the way I propose is the fastest to get all the info at once. All these seemingly small details can play crucial role with dosing suggestions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top