Cats BG over 600,** problem solved

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bellasmom, Mar 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    can I give insulin 1 hr early???.
     
  2. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    I wouldn't!
     
  3. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Isn’t that high dangerous, sorry I’m in a panic
     
  4. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Well, it's not ideal number, but it's not too harmful. I brought my cat to the ER for being at 600. They said not to do that again, because it would be a waste of time and money.
     
  5. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Why did you lower the dose?
     
  6. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    It was suggested that I do
     
  7. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Oh ok. Well I'm not expert but I thought you were only supposed to reduce when they get below 90. Lowest I see is 139. Hopefully the numbers will come down on this dose, but I'm not too sure of that.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  8. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    She's not on lantus.
     
  9. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Novolin is an in and out insulin. You can adjust times by up to an hour.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  10. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    My apologies for bad info. I'll stick to the Lantus side of things.
     
  11. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thanks Jane, sorry was in a panic
     
  12. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Thanks Janet! I thought Novolin was not a layover or build up type insulin. Prozinc is also in & out. The L’s are are build up type but correct me if I’m wrong.
     
  13. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Correct. Novolin, vetsulin and ProZinc are a little more flexible with timing.
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  14. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Why were you advised to lower from 0.5? Trying to stop the bouncing?
     
  15. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yes
     
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That's a guideline for Lantus. Bella is on Novolin N.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page