Chester and Rita

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Chester and Rita, Jun 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chester and Rita

Chester and Rita New Member

Hello! I'm new to this so, bear with us. Chester suffers from Hyperesthesia Syndrome and is taking Gabapentin. If he doesn't get that medication, he gets very violent with his tail and has chewed on it to the point of bleeding and scabs. For the longest time, I didn't know what was wrong with him for his anal glands were full and I thought that was the reason for trying to bite his own behind. Little did I know about Feline Hyperesthesia Syndrome. Just last year he had one of his anal gland removed due to Adenocarcinoma cancer. He seemed to be doing fine up until Wednesday when he was diagnosed with mellitus diabetes. I'm financially and emotionally exhausted. Chester has to be sedated at the vet for them to even touch him. How am I supposed to give him insulin shots?

Last edited: Jun 17, 2018
    Reason for edit: Help
  2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Welcome and of course we will bear with you. We all started out being new to this! :):cat: Tell us about Chester, and how we can help.

3. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Welcome! Poor Chester:( we can help you get him desensitized to shots as well as testing. Come to the Main Health Forum and tell us more about your situation. Include what you’re feeding, what kind and what dose of insulin Chester is on and if you have any other concerns.

4. Idjit's mom

Rita, I suggest you create a signature (the gray text that is attached to and beneath our responses to you). The signature is going to inform viewing and responding members important and pertinent information about Chester. It's easy and can be updated/changed at any time. Here is a link to
    Sorry, bum link. Hope you got info in PM.

Last edited: Jun 17, 2018
    Reason for edit: Correction and additions.
  5. FurBabiesMama