Chester's in remission!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Chester and Rita, Apr 5, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chester and Rita

Chester and Rita New Member

Monday was the best news I've had in a long time...Remission. I have been battling chronic diarrhea for the last 5 months and nothing was working. Chester had an anal gland removed due to cancer and diagnosed with diabetes several months later. It all started when I brought him in for his 6 month check up. Chest x-rays showed he had pneumonia. Then he started sneezing and had nasal discharge so, more antibiotics. That's when the diarrhea started. It went on for months and my vet didn't tell about Metronidozle, I had to do my own research and I was the one who ordered him to get it. It worked great at first but the problem came back. Then the vet told me to put him on Atopica (cyclosporine) which is also prescribed for inflammatory bowel disease. I said I didn't want to use that drug because it caused cancer and is NOT for cats who are suspected of malignancy or have had a malignancy (says it right on the box and it's expensive as hell)! Well, I was running out of tricks and I gave in. Cyclosporine made his diarrhea worse so, I did some more research since I was starting to think my vet is a quack. Looking up gastrointestinal problems can come from hormonal imbalances and since insulin is a hormone...bingo! After more x-rays, blood work, serum profile, and $730 later, I found out the 2 tests that he should have told me about could have saved me a lot of heartache and money! They're the fructosamine (tells you the BG for last 2 weeks) and a Lipase test (checks the pancreas function). For only $130 I could have found out that Chester didn't need insulin anymore! That guy is sooo fired! I'm so happy and I hope this sheds some light on a similar problem someone out there might be having. You really have to be diligent on doing your own research because a