Christopher

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kristine, Jul 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kristine

Kristine Member

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the feline Diabetes stuff. My sweet boy was diagnosed 3 months ago and my vet is really sweet about phone calls and such. HOWEVER..... he seems to want me to come in with my little one alot for vet visits. I am not "low income" but I am paycheck to paycheck and cant take him in willy nilly. We started on 1 unit of Lantus 2 times a day and he was apparently getting TOO much insulin. Now we have been on 1 unit a day for 2 weeks.
    Just recently a NEW symptom has occured..... He is shedding ALOT of hair. Is this normal? I am at my wits end here.
    I am also having a hard time with my glucose monitoring system.... cant figure out how to set it up... Keep getting ERROR code. HELP!!!

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Kris and Chris

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB, the best place you never wanted to be.

There are 4 things you'll need to manage your kitty's diabetes:
    - You - without your commitment, the following won't work.
    - Home blood glucose monitoring with an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart Relion Confirm or Target Up and Up (the pet ones will break your budget!). This saves you the cost of going to the vet for curves and done regularly, removes the need for a fructosamine test.
    - Low carb over the counter canned or raw diet, such as many Friskies pates. See Cat Info for more info. If already on insulin, you must be home testing before changing the diet. Food changes should be gradual to avoid GI upsets - 20-25% different food each day until switched. There are 2 low carb, dry, over the counter foods in the US - Evo Cat and Kitten dry found at pet specialty stores and Young Again 0 Carb found online.