Chuck's bouncy journey, part 17.

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by StephG, Mar 27, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    WOW! We had a blue preshot today. I stalled waiting for advice on dose and his +12.25 was 218! I can't believe it. He got his full 8 unit dose and we are watching closely.
     
  2. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh Steph what a GREAT reaction he's having to Lantus! I love seeing that blue!!

    Ohhhh that back pain sounds bad! Hoping you feel better soon!
     
    StephG likes this.
  3. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good job, Chuck!! :smuggrin:
     
    StephG likes this.
  4. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Seriously making me debate the switch too :bookworm:
     
    StephG likes this.
  5. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I gave ProZinc 6 months to start working right... I don't know what is recommended but for us once we got to 16 units a day it was getting too expensive. I mean it was too expensive from the beginning but we did our best to budget for it. I hate to say this but money was really a big part in our decision to switch and also seeing Teasel's switch to Lantus. I NEVER expected this kind of reaction. I'm keeping in mind that "new" insulin can be a bit wonky in a cat so these results might change. I'm hoping the duration of the shot doesn't change! He's surfing along great and seems to be bouncing in the mornings.
     
  6. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I'm definitely considering giving Prozinc closer to 6 months. The thought of switching just happened again as I stare at his SS :bookworm:
     
    StephG likes this.
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You and Chuck deserve to have an easier time of it, Steph! :) I hope it continues.
     
    MiCo, StephG and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  8. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    We had another blue +12!! I was too nervous to shoot on a 140 so I stalled waiting by for advice. Ended up shooting on a 224 @+12.5.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  9. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Go Chuck:cool:
     
    MiCo likes this.
  10. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Starting him on s boulardi in the morning and discontinuing the pumpkin. Of course after I split up the entire can into half ounce blobs and froze them. I'm hoping it makes a difference in his numbers or at least helps him process food better as it goes through his system helping him gain.
     
  11. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Steph, Chuck's numbers are looking sooooo good!
     
    StephG likes this.
  12. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I'm like a kid on christmas eve! I'm so giddy and excited over them. I keep praying they continue!!
     
    Yong & Maury GA, MiCo and Djamila like this.
  13. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I took a peek at your SS. Shhh I won't say anything! :cat:
     
    Yong & Maury GA, MiCo and Djamila like this.
  14. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    We're all joining you in that prayer! It's so nice to see him getting some good numbers! Funny how invested we get in each other's kitties.
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  15. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    :nailbiting: I just shot 8.5 units on a 128!! Super nervous. Testing +1 in twenty minutes.
     
  16. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Just read your Lantus condo:nailbiting::eek:. Great job!
     
    StephG likes this.
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    When have you ever had a blue PS, Steph? This is terrific! If he does what's expected with Lantus, he's coast along (surf as they call it) in a flat range of blues. Wait until you shoot your first green - you'll be given the BOS award ("balls of steel"). :D
     
    StephG and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  18. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Holy crap! First of all, hooray for the low PS. Second, I think I would spend the entire day staring at him to make sure he's okay. It has to be hard to switch your mindset that he's going to be okay with the new rules.
     
    StephG likes this.
  19. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oh my goodness! I just read your post in the Lantus forum. You were staring at him the whole cycle. Great job managing that drop! Does that mean he gets a reduction, or do you have to wait and see?
     
    StephG likes this.
  20. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wowwwwww!!!!! Yeah Lantus is it's own thing...I think intellectually I would knwo that the cycles were flatter and the depot is a thing, but coming from HERE I'd be in a panic!
     
    StephG likes this.
  21. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Chuck, you look so handsome in blue! :cool:
     
    StephG likes this.
  22. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Go read the Lantus thread - he was lime green.
     
    StephG likes this.
  23. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Holy cow what a morning!
    I had a feeling we night go to low but I figured it was left over prozinc panic. And of course I either over did it with the Karo or he bounced hard from the 43.
    I gave 8.5 again tonight since he's HI. I'm not sure if he'll get a reduction or if I just need to make sure he's not too low to shoot. I don't know. My brain is still mush.
     
  24. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Was that his first lime green? You did great!
     
  25. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yeah his first lime green. I freaked out. I don't think I gave to much Karo but with him is hard to tell. He's got a hair trigger bounce and I'm sure that lime green pulled that trigger hard!
     
  26. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    So we reduced his dose to 8.25 tonight. I was thinking we might be being too cautious but after seeing his blue surf tonight so far it reminds me why I should ALWAYS consider the Pro's input since I have NO idea what I'm doing with lantus yet. The more data we get the better I feel about it all. I'm over the moon with his numbers. I'm sure some people think I'm a nut celebrating numbers that are technically still a little too high. I'm sure one peek at my SS and it's a "oooohhh now I get it" type moment.
    :cool::cool:
     
  27. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    That's fantastic! I'm so thrilled to see that Lantus is working for Chuck!
     
    StephG likes this.
  28. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Chuck and reduced dose can go in the same sentence ;)
     
    StephG likes this.
  29. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Chuck, reduced, AND blue!! Never would have thought!
     
    Djamila, Yong & Maury GA and Sharon14 like this.
  30. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Oy! Another interesting night in lantus land!!
    Nadir was 85 @+12!! DH and I were quite confused on what to do. We didn't want to lose progress but couldn't deal with low numbers again. I only got 3 hours of sleep last night. Zzzzzzz. 3 year old twins are easily keeping me awake though!
    Cut dose in half to drain Depot a little or a lot as it turns out. Did beautiful til +7.
    Went from blues straight to red!
    Bounce and too little insulin. Restarting 8 units for his pm shot.
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Sharon14 like this.
  31. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I can't get over these beautiful numbers! What a change!!!
     
    StephG likes this.
  32. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016

    DH sent me this video this morning. :cat:
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Rachel and Sharon14 like this.
  33. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oh, he's sooooo handsome!
     
    StephG likes this.
  34. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    What a handsome boy, Steph! He could win a prize for his very distinctive colouring - and I love those white mitts! :)
     
    StephG likes this.
  35. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh he is lovely!!! I adore the way he was "attacking" and then started getting head scritches and was like...I'll just stay here and let this happen.
     
    StephG likes this.
  36. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Haha yeah that's his game plan all along! He loves his ears rubbed and will hold your hand/arm tight against his head to get them rubbed. Then a few nibbles. Once he gets his back feet going out gets a little painful. He loves to rough house. You know how some people lightly pat a dog's face to get them to play? We do that with both our cats and they love it. Of course with them you only have to touch their face and tap a couple times. I swear they think they're dogs.
     
  37. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    upload_2017-4-15_11-24-56.png
    Love his markings and colourings!
     
    StephG likes this.
  38. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    He is so pretty!
     
    StephG likes this.
  39. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Here power has been out for 8 hours now and isn't going to be fixed til 7am which will be 15 hours. Neighbor has power so I'll see if she'll store my insulin in her fridge.
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Rachel like this.
  40. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Ugh! I hope the power comes back on soon!
     
    StephG likes this.
  41. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I thought Lantus was okay being left out? Hope your power is back on!
     
    StephG likes this.
  42. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yeah I think it is ok to get warm. Power was back on this morning. Yay!
     
    Djamila and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  43. Frank's Mom

    Frank's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Omg, he is gorgeous! Is he a polydactyl? Hard to tell in the video.
    Man, your numbers make me want to switch to lantus. And I'm only a month in. But in another month I'm going to need a new vital of prozinc.
     
    StephG likes this.
  44. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    No he's not polydactyl. He's always had "snowshoe" feet... Well that's what I call them. I always thought they were too big for his body.
    We've had a bit of a set back from me playing it too safe.
    We were going through a vial per month too. It got too expensive for us.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  45. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Finally back into the yellows. Red at +2. Chuck is proving he is still Chuck.
     
    Djamila and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  46. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Chuck is up to 11.5 pounds! YAY. Almost to 12!
    But he's been mostly pink for the last week. *sigh* and some blacks!
    AMPS will be his 6th dose of 10 units. Probably going to increase again tomorrow afternoon.
     
  47. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Yay for the weight gain! Ugh for the numbers, hope the dosecrease does the trick!
     
    StephG likes this.
  48. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    10 units? holy cow, Chuck! Glad he's putting some weight back on though!
     
    StephG likes this.
  49. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yeah we suspect IAA and/or acro... Saving for the tests. I got the feeling the vet didn't think it was necessary because of the limited treatment options but for the sake of what little sanity I have left we are going to get the tests done. If they're both negative then we'll know for sure his pancreas is just an a**h**e. :p
     
  50. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    LOL!!!
     
  51. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Well, all you have to do is look at that face in your avatar and you just know he's going to give you a run for your money!
     
    StephG likes this.
  52. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    For the same of what little sanity I have left...that could be the motto for us on this board...especially me!
     
  53. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Paws crossed for a flat cycle!
    AMPS 150 and I gave him 10.5 units. VERY nervous about it. Dh is going to monitor for me. The 43@+3.25 on 4/9 left a scar!
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Sharon14 like this.
  54. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Nerve-wracking for sure, especially when giving a high dose that has a huge depot. I'm glad he's responding again though. Good luck!
     
    StephG likes this.
  55. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Come on, Chuck! Just give the nice greens, not scary ones :cat:
     
  56. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Ohhhh here's hoping for a lovely, flat cycle!
     
  57. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    He surfed in blue all morning his +10 was 215... Hopefully he won't bounce too hard or quick and we can use the overlap to get ahead of it...
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Djamila and Rachel like this.
  58. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    It's so cool to be able to see how Lantus works from you and Kris, Steph! It really gives me a better picture of what it does and how it can help kitties!
     
    StephG likes this.
  59. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I'm happy to see better numbers again. I got very discouraged and upset over the flood of pinks with red/black spots. I didn't sleep much last night. Lazy Sunday for me!
     
    Djamila and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  60. ShipsCat

    ShipsCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Wow, look at Chuck on Lantus! Still bouncy but look at those lovely blues and greens :cool:
     
    StephG likes this.
  61. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Had another blue preshot again today.
     
    ShipsCat and Kris & Teasel like this.
  62. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Look at all those blues since you went to 10.5 u!! :woot:
     
  63. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yeah! I'm very happy I didn't skip right to 11 units.
     
  64. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
  65. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    :mad::banghead::mad::banghead:
    My meter is screwed up. It won't red that it got a blood sample. Opened a new box of strips and it registered that it got a blood sample but is throwing an E13 error which is not enough blood. There was enough on all 3 strips. Enough on the 4 others too. *So many swear words*
    Off to Walmart.
     
  66. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oh no!!! What a pain in the middle of the night like that! Any idea what went wrong? Was that your original meter?
     
    StephG likes this.
  67. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Ohhhh THAT sucks, Steph! I'm sorry !
     
    StephG likes this.
  68. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    It's the one I bought back in the end of September 2016. It's been dropped a few times. Chuck has knocked it off the table a few times too. I'm guessing it's damaged from the falls.
     
  69. Blair & Freya

    Blair & Freya Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Revenge.
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Djamila and StephG like this.
  70. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    LOL yeah!
     
    Djamila likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page