Cole at 158 at PMPS. Advice needed

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by beene5052, Sep 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beene5052

    beene5052 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    We just tested Cole and he is at 158 PMPS (9:00pm) CST. Do we NS him, do the 20 minute thing or give him a reduced dose like .50 unit? We be tired!
     
  2. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Hi Anthea, sorry no one responded here but I think you managed to get a response on Main?
    If Cole gives you a PS reading of less than 200, then a method you can try is stalling. Do NOT feed and wait 20 minutes, retest. Sometimes this can give kitty a little extra time to get above 200.

    So PMPS @ 2100 - 158
    Stall for 20 minutes WITHOUT feeding meal (sometimes kitty will sing the song of his people :p)
    Retest. If BG is over 200, feed meal and administer reduced dose.
    If BG is still under 200, wait another 20 minutes without feeding and retest BG.

    If after stalling a couple times and his BG is not going over or near 200, then skip the shot to be safe but still try to grab a before bed test to see how he's doing on his own :). Cole might be trying to get a reduction and had a lovely day cycle on Saturday :cool::D:cool:
     
  3. beene5052

    beene5052 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Thanks Yong! I decided to NS again since no movement in 1 hour+. He is at 303Bg this morning.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page