? confused over glucose meter numbers

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MaeCat, Apr 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MaeCat

MaeCat New Member

I'm new to this thing, and I've done a lot of digging around on the site/forums but am having a bit of trouble finding the good/bad/normal ranges when it comes to testing cats? Can someone point me in the right direction?

Also, if I was reading things right, how can I translate a reading from a human glucose monitor into a cat-specific range?

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Normal cat: 40-120 mg/dL.
    On insulin; 50-130 mg/dL.

See my signature link Glucometer Notes for more details. There are feline-specific reference numbers provided there and in the insulin protocols for various insulin types.

Do not adjust nor convert the numbers!

Glucometers read +/- 20% from what a lab would get. The aren't intended to replace a lab.

Human meters read about 60-70% of what a pet meter of vet lab would get. It varies with meter type and glucose range. There is no conversion.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  3. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Normal blood glucose on a human meter is 50-120

The vast majority of us use human meters here due to the cost of the strips with the pet meters, but normal on a pet meter is 68-160'ish

We don't try to convert the numbers because between the 20% variance allowed on all meters and the 30-40% difference between human and pet meters, the number ends up being pretty useless

It's like taking temperature in Celcius and Farenheight..... 32C is hot...32F is cold....both are correct, you just have to understand the scale

missMeows likes this.
  4. MaeCat

MaeCat New Member