Corn Litter = Carbohydrates? (And other Q's.)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by billr, Aug 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. billr

billr Member

A newbie here. We use Worlds' Best Cat litter, which is corn based. From what I've read on this board, corn is generally a bad thing for food because it's high in carbohydrates. The corn litter is kind of dusty, so I know he gets some on his fur and feet, which he eventually licks off. Do you think there's any significant amount of carbs in the litter? Should we switch to something else?

2. Re: Corn Litter = Carbohydrates?

Bill,
    I can recall a couple of people who found that their cats were eating the World's Best which explained the higher numbers they were getting since switching.
    If you think it might be a cause of higher BGs, you can try switching as an experiment.

Maybe a pine/ceder style?

3. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Re: Corn Litter = Carbohydrates?

If there is a Tractor Supply Store, or similar, near you, you might try inexpensive compressed wood pellet bedding. It disintegrates when wet so you do need to scoop regularly.

4. billr

billr Member

Thanks for the replies. It answered my question that if he ate enough it could affect his BG readings. We'll checkout some other types of litter. (I don't he actually sits and eats it or anything, so he's probably not ingesting much. Still, corn is fairly high is sugar, so probably best to avoid the potential problems.)

5. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

Welcome Bill and Gizmo to the FDMB, the best little message board in the universe to help you with your newly diagnosed sugarcat.

Let us know what other questions you may have. Keeping them all here in your first post helps with continuity for those of us helping you.

6. billr

billr Member