? Curve Advice

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MamasBoBoMan, Dec 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MamasBoBoMan

MamasBoBoMan Member

This is my first time doing a curve since my baby was diagnosed 2 weeks ago. Takes Novolin N (1.5ml twice daily) I will be doing it tomorrow. Any advice would be great!!

Also, generally I give him his 1st insulin shot around 6:00 a.m. when I leave for work, do you have to give them the insulin at the same time on the weekends also? Is there ever a time gap allowed?

2. Noah & me (GA)

Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

Try as hard as possible to keep your timetables consistent, some insulins are more forgiving. Advice on Novolin will be coming.
    As for your curve; do you free feed? will you be there for the first 6 hours and if possible more?

3. MamasBoBoMan

MamasBoBoMan Member

I can do whatever is necessary tomorrow, my schedule is open as I planned his curve already.

He has been free fed for about a week on YA but before he was only eating twice a day when on MD

4. Noah & me (GA)

Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

I have to go, more advice is coming. :)

MamasBoBoMan likes this.
  5. Tanya and Ducia

Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

Hi Chelsea! And Bo!
    HERE is the basic Novolin Info - might be very useful!
    Do you plan to include nightly hours into your curve project?
    It would be very helpful because many cats go low naturally at night...

I have no Novolin experience - just general idea as to how any insulin might work - so I say as Noah & me - more experienced voices to be heard.

Basically you are aimed at finding out the onset (when the insulin starts working), then the nadir (the lowest point in given cycle), and then the duration (how long insulin at its current dose works) by performing curve - every 2 hours in 12 hours period or every 3 hours in 18 hours period. Feed as usual unless the BG numbers are dropping.