Info Daylight Savings Time ends Sunday, Nov. 3rd

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Oct 22, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]


    Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 3rd at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule. (This post is primarily directed to those members using Lantus, Levemir, or Basaglar -- long acting, depot-type of insulin. However, if your cat is sensitive to schedule changes regardless of what insulin you're using, you may want to consider on the the methods noted below.)

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:15
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
    • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

    Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
    pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    Option D: (From Jill...)
    "Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."
     
  2. Veronica & Babu-chiri

    Veronica & Babu-chiri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
  3. Sandi&Maxine&Whispy(GA)

    Sandi&Maxine&Whispy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
  4. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    And just in case any UKers are reading this - our clocks go back tonight! Or more accurately, 2am tomorrow morning.
     
  5. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
  6. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    une bosse!
     
  7. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Tonight's the night! Bump
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page