Info Daylight Savings Time Starts March 10th

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Jill & Alex (GA), Mar 4, 2019.

  1. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    This was written by Sienne and Gabby (GA) for those using Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir, but may be helpful to those using other insulins:


    [​IMG]


    For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using Lantus and Levemir because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    Friday AMPS at 6:45
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
    Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Friday AMPS at 7:00
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    (Please bump until Sunday, March 10th)


    Thank you, Sienne and Gabby (GA)!
     
    Peacock likes this.
  2. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Bump!

    And I would just add to this that prozinc has about an hour's worth of wiggle room, so if you are mostly consistent in your dose times, and your cat is regularly plenty high to shoot, you may be able to just make the jump all at once. If you are needing to stall fairly often, or if your cat is just barely high enough to shoot (closer to regulated), then you should consider making the time change in steps as suggested above. Please ask if you have any questions about what you should do and we can put our heads together and help come up with a plan. :bookworm::bookworm::bookworm:
     
    Peacock likes this.
  3. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Bump again! It's almost time. Make sure you have a plan and ask if you have any questions!
     
  4. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Another bump! Please let us know if you need any help with this!!!!
     

Share This Page