Info - Daylight Savings Time (US) Starts March 11th | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Info Daylight Savings Time (US) Starts March 11th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Moderator
Member since 2009
SpringForward.jpg


For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using Lantus and Levemir because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump until Sunday, March 11th)
 
What do you do if you have to keep on very tight schedule?
If you are unable to move shot times to make the adjustments, then you don't worry about it and just shoot at the new time on Sunday. I've had to do that in the past with Furball and I just kept in mind her numbers might be a little off for a couple of days because her shot just moved 1 hour.
 
It is also a good time to change the batteries in auto feeders and meters. I have such a hard time with this and I just don't undertand why. Last time change I bought cheap alarm clock from a dollar store and put it on the kitchen counter and I moved the time on it by the increments. I will shoot 30 min early (ahead) Saturday AM/PM and on the new time (another 30 min ahead/new time) on Sunday AM. Don't forget to change the time on the meters and feeders too. Don't forget phone alarms won't be "ahead" until Sunday AM so be sure to make those adjustments too :)

Fun, fun :blackeye::mad:
 
If you are unable to move shot times to make the adjustments, then you don't worry about it and just shoot at the new time on Sunday. I've had to do that in the past with Furball and I just kept in mind her numbers might be a little off for a couple of days because her shot just moved 1 hour.
Ok. Silver shots are always an hour late at night anyways.
 



Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15

Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump until Sunday, March 11th)
Shouldn't the old times be 7:15 and 7 on these? Or maybe I'm having a blond moment.

And thank you for posting this, this will be my first time dosing with daylight savings and hadn't even thought about it.
 
Shouldn't the old times be 7:15 and 7 on these? Or maybe I'm having a blond moment.

And thank you for posting this, this will be my first time dosing with daylight savings and hadn't even thought about it.
Yes, you are correct. If we were setting the clock back, the "old time examples" would be correct.
 
For some reason my brain is not working for this...

If I shoot my Sat PMPS at 630, that means in the morning, 730 would be the 12 hour mark?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top