Diabetic cat BG dropped without insulin suddenly

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by compendious, Jan 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. compendious

    compendious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Hi, my diabetic cat Dean, who is not on tight regulation, usually has bg around high 300 or low 400 and requires 3 to 4 units of NPH. He gets canned Friskies Special Diet food twice daily and eats some cat chow. His appetite has not been the best for the past week. He has a cut on his chin that he saw the vet for Monday. He got a low dose steroid shot, an antibiotic ointment called muprocin, and an oral antibiotic called cefpoxodime. I applied the ointment all week and I started the oral med today after he ate a little canned food. His bg tested at 217 so I skipped his shot. He refused food tonight and acts sleepy. His bg tested 195. I don't know how or why it decreased. It has not ever happened before. I am concerned.

    Has that happened to anyone else?

    Renee
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    You might post that in the Health forum. Not a lot of traffic here.

    Are you testing for urine ketones?
    Does his breath smell fruity of like nail polish remover?

    See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page