diabetic cat not eating

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by muffin, Mar 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. muffin

muffin New Member

My cat muffin has been diabetic for about 9months and doing fine up til now.
    3 days ago she stoped eating all her food, now she only takes small bites and walks away from the rest but she still looks hungry. She wants more but dosn't eat it. I have tried all her fav foods and more but she wont eat.
    I have had to stop giving her her shots because her BG drops too low.

If any one has any info to why this is happening or any food ideas please help.

2. RubenTheCat

RubenTheCat Member

I'm no expert and would only be guessing.
    I would have her checked out,
    Does she have the 5 P's- peeing, pooing, preening, purring and playing?
    Does she eat her treats?
    Have you tried parm cheese sprinkled on her food?
    There are a few other ways to intice a kitty to eat but that won't tell you why she stopped eating.
    I'll try to see if I can get someone to peek over here
    Hang tight and sending eating vines to kitty.

3. Dyana

Dyana Well-Known Member

Are you home testing, and what was her last test?

Does she approach the food and lick her licks or walk away? She might be nauseated and have pancreatitis.
    Have you checked her for ketones? If not, I would go out and buy some ketone test strips now, and test her and rule out ketones.

Have you tried putting any toppings like crumbled freeze dried all meat treats or parmesean cheese on top of her food?

What insulin are you using and what dose are you giving?

Sorry for all the questions, but answering these can help us to help you.

4. Sandy and Brie

Sandy and Brie Member