Diabetic Cats in Need Adoptable Cats--Featuring KITTY!!!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN), Aug 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN)

    Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    This week's featured cat is KITTY.

    [​IMG]

    Kitty's blog page is here. She is insulin dependent and on Levemir. She has been in foster with missyandlittlegray since early April 2010.

    Kitty is a beautiful girl who was abandoned at a shelter because of her diabetes. But even before that, her people weren't treating her well.

    Please think about opening your heart and home to Kitty. Although Missy thinks Kitty would be happiest as an only cat, she also believes Kitty could probably live comfortably with one or two other mellow, friendly cats.

    The other cats currently on DCIN's adoption list are:

    Beasley (in DCIN foster with dian in Pittsburgh; will adopt separately from his friend Twinkie)
    Doug (in foster with Claudia in MA)
    Jacob (in foster with OLM Catnip Cottage in Summerville, SC)
    Jules (in foster with Claudia in MA; diet controlled diabetic)
    Pewter Boy (in foster with Claudia in MA)
    Rusty (needs rehoming from Phoebe near Detroit)
    Sebastian Purrbox (in foster with Stefani in Maryland)
    Tawny (in DCIN foster with Desi in Louisiana)
    Tommy (in foster with Rhea in Charlottesville-Albemarle Virginia)
    Twinkie (in DCIN foster with dian in Pittsburgh; will adopt separately from his friend Beasley)
    Yoda (in foster with Kelly in Bloomington, IN)

    I invite the foster beans of cats of the DCIN adoption list to post updates about their charges on this thread. You may see new threads during the week if cats are added to DCIN's adoption or courtesy lists. (The courtesy list is on the main page of the DCIN blog, after the cats listed above.) You also may see the foster beans post about these cats on Health and the Insulin Support Groups.
     
  2. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

    Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Rusty is doing well -- the cats have graduated to playing "Pass the catnip Banana under the bedroom door making as much noise as possible"
     
  3. OLM Catnip Cottage

    OLM Catnip Cottage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Kitty is lovely. She looks a LOT like Tiger Lilly, who was a very sweet girl. She was one of our therapy cats until she was adopted.

    Good luck, Miss Kitty.

    Phoebe: Pass the catnip bandanna under the door! What a fun and interesting game. That is a creative and clever way to socialize cats together!
     
  4. Venita

    Venita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sebastian Purrbox is Stefani's foster diabetic, but he is staying with me for a few weeks. We have switched him to Levemir insulin, and have to restart the whole "filling the shed" routine.

    Bastian is a sweet cat, but I get the feeling he's not been socialized too much to cats or people. He has a flat affect to his behavior. At first, Jim and I thought maybe he was deaf, but that's definitely not it. I think he just is overwhelmed with the new people, cats up close and personal in his space, and the new surroundings. But he is starting to come out of his shell. And the other cats are becoming more accustomed to him. Jim tells me that he often sees Casey (our 2YO) doing his "I want to play" posture with Bastian, laying on his back and trying to pull Bastian in to wrestle. At first, it was like Bastian didn't even see Casey there. Now he is reacting with "I don't know what that means." I suspect Casey will break through with the time Bastian still has here.

    I haven't been able to test Bastian much mid cycle (SS in sig line) because he hides in the house. Last night I did find one of his hiding spots. But much of the time, he's just plain invisible. He has a healthy appetite and could use a little weight, and the popping of a food can will often bring him out. I hope to get a good picture soon.

    I have a picture of Sebastian and Stefani from when I picked him up from her. If and when I find it, I will post it, although I am not sure that Stefani will be happy about people seeing her early morning, no makeup face. But she's beautiful even without it.
     
  5. Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN)

    Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
  6. Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN)

    Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Bump

    DCIN has added a few cats to its courtesy post list, on the main page of the blog. Link in sig line.
     
  7. DD & Tinkerbell

    DD & Tinkerbell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Tawny is an incredibly beautiful girl with an unbelievably sweet personality.

    She is doing very well on below 7% canned Friskies and last week had an amps of 176, her first blue # since she has come to stay with me a few weeks ago. She is still on .5u lantus BID and will hold that dose for the time being. Her #s run pretty flat, usually ranging from 210-280. She is a very loving and cooperative kitty, and super easy to test.

    Tawny has adapted well to a house full of 6-8 other cats (the others (17 total) are feral or semi-feral and stay outdoors mostly) and 2 large dogs. She is no longer confined to her own room but roams about at will, indoors, and gets along with the other critters. Last night she spent the entire night sleeping curled up right next to me, with 3 other cats on the bed too.

    So far Tawny has not gone outdoors. She seems to like being an indoor cat just fine and has shown no desire to go out and since she has only been with me a few weeks and I am gone to the store so much I prefer that she stay in anyway. That means we are both happy! LOL.

    Tawny is a darling cat who will only enrich the life of the person or family who decides to bring her into their hearts and home furever.
     
  8. missyandlittlegray

    missyandlittlegray Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Thank you Venita, for featuring Kitty this week. She's so pleased!

    She's such a wonderful cat, and I love her so much, but she's unhappy being one of seven cats. She wants to be the center of attention, and she deserves that. I hope her perfect forever home comes along very soon.
     
  9. Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN)

    Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    This thread will be closed. The current week's DCIN adoptable cats post, featuring Mr. Beasley, is here.

    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page