Diagnosed Today

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Yarnshi, Oct 6, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yarnshi

Yarnshi New Member

Hello!

My cat baby has today been diagnosed with diabetes and will begin on his insulin path starting today as well. I am new to this experience and to this site in general, so I hope to connect with a lot of people on here, sharing experiences and support. I feel confident that someday my cat will remission, but in the meantime any amount of verbal support is more than grateful and appreciated. I want to hear any stories from anyone right now about their "sugar kitty" and how they are doing so far.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Welcome.
    Good insulins are the human Lantus and Levemir and the pet insulins ProZinc and BCP PZI. For those two human insulin it is best to get the 5 pack of 3 ml disposable pens via a 10 ml vial. Although per ml the vial is less expensive most cats will not use up a 10 ml vial before the insulin goes bad/becomes ineffective. The human insulin N/NPH is sometimes prescribed but only lasts 8-10 hours. Same for the pet insulin Vetsulin/Caninisulin.
    Most of us here test our cat's blood glucose at home using a human meter. We test before each shot and periodically between shots. We record our reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
    What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb canned

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/
    Here is a link to home testing blood sugar
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

3. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member