2/12 Chino|AMPS=378|+4=344|+8=334|PMPS=416|+2=442|+4=376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
15th cycle on 5 units. 9th cycle since seeing the first green on this dose. (The last 8 have been flat red/pink.) 2nd cycle since starting methimazole, 1.25 mg BID. I started a new vial of Lantus this morning in case the old vial is part of the problem.

Yesterday morning, I was refilling the water bowl and turned around to find Chino eating Fox's food. This morning, after they both ate, Fox started retching and Chino ran toward him with his tail in the air, vibrating excitedly, thinking he was about to get a 2nd meal :eek:.

I'm not sure how long it will take for the new medication to take his appetite down a notch or two, but that's one effect that I'm eagerly awaiting. I spoke with a friend who had a hyperthyroid cat and she said he put on 3 pounds in the first few weeks on the meds. I know ECID, but that gives me hope that me might be seeing good things soon.
 
I would bring his methimazole dose up as soon as you are comfortable. Hope he tolerates it well and helps put the weight on. Not sure I'd hold his Lantus dose much longer either or how long it will take to see any affects from the new meds on his BG's. Did your vet give you any indication on that?
 
From what I've read so far:

  • It can take several weeks to notice a difference.
  • I should be getting CBCs as often as every 2 weeks for the first 3 months (15% develop blood dyscrasias).
  • 50% of cats who take this for 6+ months develop an autoimmune disease.
  • Underlying kidney disease is often revealed when the cat is euthyroid and there's less blood flow to the kidneys.
 
Ugh...I'm very anti meds because of all the darn "what could happen" but it is what it is. We've been treating Doodles heart only to kill his kidneys :( Maybe put "HyperT" in your title with the question mark. Can't think of any at the moment but sure there are folks here who have experienced it. It's just nice to get feedback from others.

Good to know it "could" take 3 weeks to see a difference. It will be interesting to see what Chino thinks.
 
More fun facts:

  • Thyroid hormone levels should be reduced in 1-3 weeks.
  • A rare side effect is facial/neck itching, causing self-mutilation.
  • Cats who get through the first 3 months without side effects can usually continue methimazole for life without side effects.
  • In a study comparing transdermal vs. oral administration, more cats taking the pill had normal serum T4 in 2 weeks... though it doesn't say anything about what % of them got there in just 2 weeks.
 
This somewhat scary article goes into more detail about the side effects, but says that it was effective within 2-3 weeks:

In 181 of the cats, methimazole was administered for 7 to 130 days as a preoperative preparation for thyroidectomy. The remaining 81 cats were given methimazole
for 30 to 1,000 days as sole treatment for the hyperthyroid state. After 2 to 3 weeks of methimazole therapy (10 to 15 mg/d), the mean serum thyroxine (T4) concentration decreased significantly (P < 0.001) from a pretreatment value of 12.1 µg/dl to 2.1 µg/dl. The final maintenance dose needed to maintain euthyroidism in the 81 cats that were given methimazole as sole treatment for hyperthyroidism ranged from 2.5 to 20 mg/d (mean, 11.9 mg/d).
 
Last night and this morning, he got half of the prescribed dose of methimazole (to see how he tolerated it). Starting tonight, I'm giving him the full dose (2.5 mg). It should have a significant effect within 2-3 weeks... but I can't have him living in the 300s and 400s until then. If anyone is reading this, what are your thoughts on going up to 5.25 units tomorrow morning? I know dose increases go by 0.5 units at this point, but I'm suggesting 5.25 because I don't know how soon the medication will start having an impact on his BG... assuming it will help in that regard.
 
I think you can increase tonight, probably also by 0.5 units, but it's your call. Did the vet have any idea when they'd hear back from MSU?

I'm glad it looks like he can tolerate the methimazole. I hear of so many cats that don't and the bean has to do the i131. My aunt had a cat on methimazole, getting it via transdermal, who lived to 23.
 
Thanks. The person I spoke with when I picked up the meds (tech or receptionist) said it could take weeks to get the results for labs that have to be sent out of state. I hope that's not the case, since the MSU website said 2-7 days turnaround for the IAA and 4-9 for the IGF-1. But she said they'll call when the results are back.
 
I waited almost weeks. I got the blood draw early in the week, but it didn't make it to MSU in time so had wait until the following week. IGF-1 tests are only run once a week. Miss that slot and you wait a week. The results are emailed to the vet soon after the tests are complete.
 
The labs were drawn on Monday morning, but the results weren't back yesterday and their office is closed today. I'm hoping to get the results in the next 2 or 3 days.
 
A rare side effect is facial/neck itching, causing self-mutilation.
WTH!!!!

Adrian, hope Chino does well on his new meds so you don't have to worry so much.

@Beth 73's kitty Elmo has HyperT. Maybe she can share some of her experiences. I'm not sure how long Mr. Elmo has been hyperT but he is 17 yo and just went OTJ a few weeks ago after being on insulin for about 5 months or so.
 
I gave 5.25 units tonight. We'll probably be up to 5.5 by the end of the week, at which time I'll have to knock him back down to 5 units for the pet sitters.

Alternatively, I could take him up to 5.5 units tomorrow morning, keep that dose all week, and if he stays above 100, keep the same dose while I'm gone. Though I expect the methimazole will be working its magic next week and I don't know what effect that might have on his BG.
 
The +2 is higher than the PMPS. I have a feeling I'd be seeing the same thing even if I'd increased to 5.5 units, which I'll be doing tomorrow morning. It strikes me as strange that I was regularly seeing daytime nadirs in the 200s until I went above 4 units. Since that time, he's been above 300 all day (with the exception of the 2/06 vet visit). Is it possible that the current dose is too high?

Still waiting on the IAA and IGF-1 lab results.

It's ironic that both of my parents are diabetic (type 2) and neither are comfortable testing Chino or giving his insulin. Though one is allergic to cats, and neither are insulin-dependent. On Thursday, my dad will be coming over before it's time for Chino's BG check and PM insulin to watch the routine. I've asked him to check in on them during the day while I'm gone, in case Chino vomits shortly after the AM dose and doesn't eat it (and pigs learn to fly and Hell freezes over).
 
You should get the IAA/IGF-1 results early this week, maybe even tomorrow. Bronx's blood was taken on a Friday, sent out on Monday. Got the IAA on the following Monday & IGF-1 a day after that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top