? Dose help tonight

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Brian & Monkey, Apr 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian & Monkey

Brian & Monkey Member

Hi there. Monkey is a new diabetic, we also have a newbie thread. She's on ProZinc for 1 month now. I tried 1.5u, then 1.75u, and last night started 2u. This morning, her BG was off the meter high. I am not sure what to do for tonight.

Here are some facts that help with troubleshooting:
    • The ProZinc is 1 month old. It has not been left out; it does not have floaties; it has only been treated gently.
    • I have been giving both my cats Adequan shots for 2 years so I am pretty sure I can tell when the shot goes in or not, and so far I have not missed that I can tell.
    • She does not have access to any other food she could be eating secretly.
    • Her diet has stayed the same. She gets wet food meals and has a small amount of kibble out. Last night, it was gone by 3am. (Her sister eats it too.)
    • There has been no noticeable stressor or change in her behavior.
    • I tested the meter on myself this morning and it worked normally.
    Any advice for tonight and going forward? Thank you.

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Brian and Monkey, and welcome! Thanks for the quick summary of background information, that was helpful!

I'll get to your question first, and then a few other things after that. I would suggest staying at the 2u dose tonight and tomorrow morning. If there is any way it's possible, please get a test in later tonight (sometime around +4 to +6 would be ideal, but even a +3 could at least give us a hint). Cats often run lower during the night, so we need to see where she's going on that dose before recommending the next increase. Sometimes Saturday nights are easiest to wake up and do the test since most folks don't have work tomorrow morning, but of course that may not be true for you, so I understand if it won't work tonight.