? Dosing advice for 9:00PM shot - AMPS was 95 / PMPS is 192

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by shelaghc, Jan 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    (Cross posted from main board)

    Any recommendations for Jester's insulin tonight?
    Should I go for a full 1U?
    Should I hold off one more night?
    (He's had no insulin at all today so far, btw)

    Food all day has been low-carb pate, although he's barely eaten a can and a half today so far.

    ASAP Comments would be most appreciated.
     
  2. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    How many more hours will you be up? I think shooting 1u will likely be fine, with there isn't a lot of PM cycle data to know for sure. If you can get a test in a couple of hours, I'd say go for it.
     
  3. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    I'm usually up until about 1:00AMish. I had a good amount of sleep for a change last night (woke up late).
    How soon should I test after insulin?
     
  4. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Onset is usually around +2, so maybe around +3. Test sooner though if you suspect anything funny.
     
    shelaghc likes this.
  5. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    That'll be 12:35AM at the earliest now.

    Weirdest thing so far. Couldn't get rid of a bubble in the syringe. Took three tries.

    Then Jester decided he wasn't hungry and I spent a few minutes convincing him he was.

    Then I pulled the needle cap off and somehow bent the damn thing to a 45 degree angle!

    Yeesh!

    Now Jester's had his shot but he's decided he's not hungry again.

    :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
     
  6. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Still not even nibbling.

    If he doesn't go low, I'll be surprised.

    Looks like Jester gets a pepcid tonight.
     
  7. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Poor baby! I hope he feels better soon!
     
  8. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    He seems to be okay for the most part.

    I just gave him some of his favorite medium carb food and he's eating that.

    But yesterday he was eating like this too - nibbling all day until I gave him carby stuff. Then this morning I found two spots with foamy clear vomit.

    Might have been Jester, but I didn't actually see who did it.

    I might wait one more day and see what happens. Two vets at the practice.
    One recommends pepcid, the other doesn't like it.
     
  9. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Do you think he has an upset tummy, or is just protesting the food? If he has nausea, I've had good luck with cerenia.
     
  10. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Not entirely sure. If you look at my notes in the spreadsheet, I document his eating for the day.

    Vet thought it might be acid stomach because of the foamy vomit, but, again, I have three cats. And one of the others has a tumor in his jaw.

    I have pepcid and that's what I have to work with. Temps are way too low right now and I have to watch what little money I have. (My entire income for December was $62 after taxes.)
     
  11. shelaghc

    shelaghc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Mid-cycle at +3 was 243. Normally that would worry me because it seems awfully high. But I found out earlier today that I don't have to wait two hours between eating and mid-cycle tests.
    Jester's been happily munching on medium-carb food off and on since about 10:45PM - although he snoozed from about 11:15 until the test.
    By the time he's done, he'll likely have finished nearly an entire can of the Friskies shreds. (I'd rather he not eat medium carb foods, but he's so damn skinny right now, I won't argue the point....)
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
    Djamila likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page