Dosing Question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Beth & Atlas, Jun 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beth & Atlas

Beth & Atlas Well-Known Member

I am trying to understand this chart http://felinediabetes.com/bg-meter.htm .

What is the difference between nadir, mid-point and mid-point range?

If I have a nadir, lowest point of 125.

Is the mid-point range the group of readings between 4, 6, and 8? 138, 186, 294?

So the mid-point range is the average of those three readings? 206

2. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member

Wow. It is difficult to understand, and I'm an engineer working with numbers all day.

This was written in 1995, so kind of dated -- I think Lantus and Levemir were not available in those days, so the BG curves might have been for shorter duration insulins.

In general, RANGE refers to the span between minimum and maximum - so I would think the high and low point for the curve. Range mid-point then might be the average of those two numbers. Nadir on the other hand is the lowest point of the curve.

With what I know about feline diabetes -- these definitions don't necessarily make sense with the dosing recommendations noted in the article, so I hesitate to try and interpret for you -- interested to see if someone else can.

3. Hope + (((Baby)))GA

Hope + (((Baby)))GA Well-Known Member

Blue, I believe that info was written at the time for the use of Humulins N, L and U.......... all of which have been discontinued except N. R is still available also but mostly used by ER vets when dealing with DKA.

4. kate and lucky

kate and lucky Member

Agree with Phoebe, can see how confusing this article is.

Maybe need to bring to Rebeccas attention. To me it looks like it is for the insulins before Lantus and Lev days.

5. Beth & Atlas

Well, we're using Humulin N....right. So an interpretation would be real helpful for me.

6. Beth & Atlas