? Dosing timing

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nicole dorsey, Aug 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nicole dorsey

Nicole dorsey Member

good evening,

Newbie here. We are start low and go slow. Trying to get a routine down. Is it harmful to give it at 10 or 11 hours if got off schedule or is there certain timing around it? I Know ideally it is 12 hours but wondering with trying to figure out work etc. thanks!

2. Bobbie And Bubba

Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

It's best if you give the dose 12 hours apart but sometimes we run late and sometimes we need to shoot a bit earlier. Just remember that an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a decrease. I wouldn't shoot any earlier that 1 hour and that would ONLY be if he is running higher. If he is running in lower numbers, I wouldn't shoot earlier. That's just my opinion and hope others weigh in.

tiffmaxee and Nicole dorsey like this.
  3. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

4. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

Especially at the beginning I'd be hesitant to shoot too early unless like Bobbie suggested he is really high. I might consider a reduced dose of say .75 if shooting early even if high.

5. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

The rule of thumb is to move shot times either 15 minutes per shot time, or 1/2 hour once per day to get you back on schedule. If you want to shoot any earlier, post here and ask if it's OK.

Are you home testing yet? I'm not seeing much data on the spreadsheet.

Nicole dorsey likes this.
  6. Nicole dorsey

Nicole dorsey Member

My vet (the regular pcp) asked/requested I don't until we get him curved and regulated. I'm not certain I ageee but he said with being on pred they are going to be all over the place initially until he is more regulated. Thoughts?

7. Wendy&Neko