? Dust Bunny is low again! she hit 159 this morning!

Status
Not open for further replies.
So even with her reduced shot (1.5u from 2u of prozinc) she is at 159 this morning. I guess I have to skip again because I can not stay home today. I have to be at work soon. Should I reduce again?




OLD:
She was feeling good when I got home. Very alert and playful. I tested her before i gave her dinner and it said 52! Guess I am going to have to hold off on her insulin tonight. My question though is, if she is at 52 now, then does that mean she was lower during her peak hours?? I really hope not because I was at work. She has not tested this low ever. She is getting 2u of Prozinc and eating 5.5 oz of Friskys wet twice a day. Im happy she is lower but I am afraid it means she was hypo during the peak when I wasnt here. Should I maybe test her again?
 
Last edited:
Should I maybe test her again?
Yep! Definitely!!! You're at the end of the cycle, thankfully, but there is the possibility of some carryover effect from one cycle to the next when using in-out insulins so you need to make sure that Dust Bunny stays in safe numbers.

I just spotted @Bobbie And Bubba online. Bobbie, can you give Christie a better steer on this? I don't know Prozinc at all (and I'm absolutely hanging - I desperately need rest).


Mogs
.
 
I can for a little while. She hasn't come back yet. Wish I knew what was happening.
Thanks, Paula. I've got to sign off (feeling really rough) and I'd feel awful if no-one was looking out for Christie and Dust Bunny. I hope Christie posts an update soon; it's awful when one doesn't know what's happening. Fingers and paws crossed that all is OK.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Paula, I'll keep an eye on Christie for a while too (keeping an eye on another member as well right now anyway) but I've only had a very brief experience with ProZinc doing shots for another member last summer. I'm going to check the sliding scale and ProZ guidelines.
 
When the dose has been too high, instead of a smile-shaped curve, you will see a continuing decrease in the numbers, sometimes until the next pre-shot.
Have you observed anything which would explain the drop - not eating, vomiting/diarrhea, any antibiotic treatment for infection?



p.s. You can't take care of your cat if you don't take care of you! Please make sure you eat something on a regular basis as that will keep you healthy!
 
Hi Paula, I'll keep an eye on Christie for a while too (keeping an eye on another member as well right now anyway) but I've only had a very brief experience with ProZinc doing shots for another member last summer. I'm going to check the sliding scale and ProZ guidelines.

Ok thanks, I have to go and phone not allowed. She doesn't come on often. I have no idea if anything was done since the 55 reading.
 
When the dose has been too high, instead of a smile-shaped curve, you will see a continuing decrease in the numbers, sometimes until the next pre-shot.
Have you observed anything which would explain the drop - not eating, vomiting/diarrhea, any antibiotic treatment for infection?



p.s. You can't take care of your cat if you don't take care of you! Please make sure you eat something on a regular basis as that will keep you healthy!

Her numbers previously did a slight smile effect. Shes not been on anything and she got so into her food it was all over her face! The only real issue is that she does occasionally have a hairball problem. But she doesn't seem to be tonight. Shes very happy and purring all over the place tho.


Its hard to eat when you're stuck making everyone elses food for 10hrs. Also sry for not replying so fast. I was trying to get it up on my phone. We need an app.
 
Ok I'll check back shortly. The normal procedure when you get a low pre-shot test would be to stall without feeding and then retest to see if the numbers are going up by themselves. You've now got food into her which will raise her numbers making it impossible to say if it's safe to give her any insulin tonight. Has Dustbunny ever had a problem with ketones? That can effect the decision of whether to skip or not?
 
Ok I'll check back shortly. The normal procedure when you get a low pre-shot test would be to stall without feeding and then retest to see if the numbers are going up by themselves. You've now got food into her which will raise her numbers making it impossible to say if it's safe to give her any insulin tonight. Has Dustbunny ever had a problem with ketones? That can effect the decision of whether to skip or not?

Oh. Ok. No she hasn't had any issues that we have found.
 
Alright. You are already an hour and 3/4 past shot time and if Dustbunny were mine, I'd be skipping the shot tonight. We generally advise new diabetics not to shoot unless the pre-shot number is 200 or more. That drop today makes me wonder how low she got earlier. Have you taken another reading yet?
 
she decided it was bed time and went under the couch. Im trying to get her out.
It figures!:D Is that why she got her name? :woot: Ok I'll stand by. I just want to be sure you two are Ok tonight.

Given that late BIG drop today, I would recommend you post tomorrow morning in the ProZinc forum to get some advice about what dose to give. I believe Dust Bunny may have earned a reduction in dose but given my inexperience with ProZinc, I don't know by how much. Best to get some of the experienced folks to give you some help with that to ensure Dustbunny stays safe while you are at work.
 
It figures!:D Is that why she got her name? :woot: Ok I'll stand by. I just want to be sure you two are Ok tonight.

Given that late BIG drop today, I would recommend you post tomorrow morning in the ProZinc forum to get some advice about what dose to give. I believe Dust Bunny may have earned a reduction in dose but given my inexperience with ProZinc, I don't know by how much. Best to get some of the experienced folks to give you some help with that to ensure Dustbunny stays safe while you are at work.

No she got her name because I actually had wanted to purchase a munchkin kitty that was fluffy and gray but instead I found her outside and she was fluffy and gray lol.

I will deffinately get up a bit early and post her results there for advice on dose.
 
Ok so she is rising albeit partially from the food but the ProZinc should be wearing off at this point so I think she's safe for now. You might want to put some food out for her overnight just in case she feels the need. If you will be up a bit longer, you could get one more test just to be sure she's still rising. And don't be surprised if she is really up tomorrow morning. She's not used to that low number and will likely bounce due to that along with the missed shot.

Well I'm going to check on my other charge and then turn in for the night so I'll bid you and Dust Bunny sweet dreams. She's a real cutie and I love how she got her name! :)
 
Yep! Definitely!!! You're at the end of the cycle, thankfully, but there is the possibility of some carryover effect from one cycle to the next when using in-out insulins so you need to make sure that Dust Bunny stays in safe numbers.

I just spotted @Bobbie And Bubba online. Bobbie, can you give Christie a better steer on this? I don't know Prozinc at all (and I'm absolutely hanging - I desperately need rest).


Mogs
.
Sorry Mogs and Dust Bunny, I didn't see this until this AM at 6:30 and so glad MrWorfMen's Mom was able to help.
 
Yes you can go ahead and feed her. Looks like Bobbie is around so she is probably just reviewing what happened and be in touch shortly. :)
 
I kinda didnt pick them. Dust Bunnys i explained before was pre-given. Lucky got hers because everyone in the pet ER kept repeating what a lucky kitty she was that i found her. Blankets was chosen by her previous owner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top