Elmo 12/19 PMPS 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Have been without internet since last night..had to come to DH office where I am now ...will be posting as I can til home internet is corrected ...last night +4 was 160....
 
Beth I put a link over yonder on your old post so we don't lose you in the main thread listing. Understand about connectivity so just post when you can. We know you have a busy day today! :bighug:
 
Will be posting here on my phone as time permits....can't access SS so will post his numbers here...he is acting fine, ate well, gave .25 minus full drop and will check at +1.5 ...any thots on stalled BG numbers? Ketones negative .
 
When you get a chance let us know you're home safe 'n' sound, Beth. :bighug:
Thank u for all ur support ....internet still sporadic ...will post as soon as home ...probably not for a few hours and if internet is cooperating ;).....amps 167...+1.5...141........+2..119.....+3...119.......+4...140......got a feeling dealing with thyroid and may need to up his dose...blood work will tell...
 
Thank u for all ur support ....internet still sporadic ...will post as soon as home ...probably not for a few hours and if internet is cooperating ;).....amps 167...+1.5...141........+2..119.....+3...119.......+4...140......got a feeling dealing with thyroid and may need to up his dose...blood work will tell...
 
Great news! I knew you'd make your case very convincing! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D and look Menace is excited for Elmo and you too!

DANCING BLACK CAT.gif
 
Hello and huge kudos to you all !!!! You armed me with confidence and information so I was able to go in with the belief that if vet said no then I would just keep at it til I got my yes, there or somewhere else. Oh.... my....goodness....it went above and beyond all I could have hoped, thought or asked. He said yes to Lantus and referred me to a vet clinic about 45 minutes away . Dr Stewart said Elmo needed more than he could give , given his diabetes, thyroid and kidney issues . The vet he referred me to is actually a lady I have gone to over the last 17 years with complicated situations, who was the one who neutered Elmo before I found a vet closer to me. She is wonderful and now to think she will be able to be Elmo's vet is just beyond my wildest hopes. Thank you to each and everyone of you,but especially Mogs, Kris, Linda and Chris for all the hopes, thoughts and prayers that helped this be a successful day. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: . His numbers are a bit wonky now, in part due to elevated thyroid..vet increased his dose. We are exhausted from the day so will tackle Lantus and new vet call for tomorrow.And yes, rural internet has returned....out for over 12 hours but back now :)......again, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU to each of you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:.As my little niece says" you are my best "!!!!
 
You got the green light for insulin change??? (I'm assuming...) If so, YAYY!!!
Hello Cass and Gordy....yes, my now former vet not only gave me script for Lantus but referred me to new vet who handles more involved cases. See that you switched from Vetsulin to Lantus so I know I will have a million questions !!!! This has been a very good day !!!!!:):):)
 
Hello Cass and Gordy....yes, my now former vet not only gave me script for Lantus but referred me to new vet who handles more involved cases. See that you switched from Vetsulin to Lantus so I know I will have a million questions !!!! This has been a very good day !!!!!:):):)
I won't be much help, I just switched yesterday ;) But we can do the journey together :) Its exciting! I got news from my vet when I was at work, then told everyone (not that they cared all that much lol)
 
I won't be much help, I just switched yesterday ;) But we can do the journey together :) Its exciting! I got news from my vet when I was at work, then told everyone (not that they cared all that much lol)
Journeying together sounds great!!!! And with all these unbelievable helpers on this board we don't journey alone !!!:):):):):):):):):)
 
Beth, did your vet give you a guide as to how long it will take for the new thyroid med dose to settle? (Wondering what impact it might have on BG levels.)


Mogs
.
 
Beth, did your vet give you a guide as to how long it will take for the new thyroid med dose to settle? (Wondering what impact it might have on BG levels.)


Mogs
.
I am talking to my holistic vet tomorrow. I believe I remember that thyroid meds help lower BG levels some ...will ask her tomorrow. Thanks, Mogs , for the point. Taking his PMPS in 45 minutes..he may have a minor UTI but will wait for holistic vet direction on that ....
 
Beth, with Elmo having HyperT before he developed diabetes, getting his HyperT under better control will likely make his BG go down. HyperT can cause insulin resistance leading to the development of diabetes. As the HyperT is brought/kept under control, it's possible the diabetes could possibly go into remission. Interesting short video on the subject HERE.

ETA Elated to hear you have been referred to a vet you admire and can work with. It's so much easier when you have full faith in your medical practitioners!
 
Beth, with Elmo having HyperT before he developed diabetes, getting his HyperT under better control will likely make his BG go down. HyperT can cause insulin resistance leading to the development of diabetes. As the HyperT is brought/kept under control, it's possible the diabetes could possibly go into remission. Interesting short video on the subject HERE.

ETA Elated to hear you have been referred to a vet you admire and can work with. It's so much easier when you have full faith in your medical practitioners!
Thank you,Linda...I am a bit overwhelmed right now and exhausted...I know u all understand and that helps beyond measure.He has been on a very low dose thy meds for several months but vet doubled it...going to give it tonight and heck with holistic vet tomorrow. They controlled it before with science diet yd which is high in carbs and can't help but think it aided in the diabetes. He had eaten the junk for almost 3 years .
 
When adjusting regimens it's advisable to be extra careful when more than one thing is changing at the same time.

With the increase in the hyperT meds it may possibly show some impact on Elmo's metabolic rate. You need to take that into consideration because it may affect Elmo's insulin needs - or may affect his BG pattern.

Your home testing should hopefully aid you in keeping on top of any changes but I think it would be a good idea to check with the vet about precautions you should consider about when to do the insulin changeover. Essentially you've got Elmo in very good numbers on a very small dose of Vetsulin at the moment. If the thyroid med were to reduce his BG levels he may need less Vetsulin. Obviously any changes will also have an impact on Elmo's upcoming Lantus switch-over.


Mogs
.
 
Also he has been peeing and drinking extra today due to elevated thyroid and/or possible UTI....told vet today about peeing and he didn't address it
 
ALSO ????? Do I go ahead and increase thyroid meds tonight or wait ??? Maybe increase by 1/4 more pill instead of a full additional 1/2 ????
 
Beth, the increased peeing/drinking could be from the higher BG too so don't despair. I'd start the increased dose of thyroid med tonight as planned. As far as dose is concerned tonight, I'd be inclined to tread lightly right now so stick with the same dose. Other may think otherwise but that's why we tag team! My thinking is that one night or even a few days of being a bit high is better than being too low and we don't know how quickly you will see results of increased dose of thyroid med. Definitely something to discuss with holistic vet tomorrow.

Curious.... I take it Elmo has been drinking/peeing more before today? Did vet suggest possible UTI or is that your speculation?
 
Linda, for past month or so he hits times where he goes several days peeing every few hours then next day would go for 8-10 hours between pee...yesterday he started going little closer together but today got marked worse. Always the same average amount .
 
So so glad I talk with Dr Pat ( holistic) tomorrow...made the appointment a week ago just to check in....she is fabulous ...so calm and reassuring... has helped me for years
 
She does only phone consultations with people all over the world...such a wise lady and a blessing to have in my kitty arsenal !!!
 
Thank you,Linda...I am a bit overwhelmed right now and exhausted...I know u all understand and that helps beyond measure.He has been on a very low dose thy meds for several months but vet doubled it...going to give it tonight and heck with holistic vet tomorrow. They controlled it before with science diet yd which is high in carbs and can't help but think it aided in the diabetes. He had eaten the junk for almost 3 years .
His methimazole dose has been very small. Some cats are sensitive to it when the dose is raised - vomiting, inappetance. Just a heads up.
Beth, the increased peeing/drinking could be from the higher BG too so don't despair. I'd start the increased dose of thyroid med tonight as planned. As far as dose is concerned tonight, I'd be inclined to tread lightly right now so stick with the same dose. Other may think otherwise but that's why we tag team! My thinking is that one night or even a few days of being a bit high is better than being too low and we don't know how quickly you will see results of increased dose of thyroid med. Definitely something to discuss with holistic vet tomorrow.

Curious.... I take it Elmo has been drinking/peeing more before today? Did vet suggest possible UTI or is that your speculation?
I agree with Linda on this - keep variables to a minimum.
 
Beth, my little sugar used to leave a wet concrete slab on the bottom of the litter pan :banghead:. Thankfully now it's clumps as opposed to a slab but some days she pees more than others and I see her visiting her water bowl more some days than others. My girl is generally running higher than Elmo and does far more cliff dives into the blue lagoon (where Elmo has spent most of his time lately) without actually heading into shark (hypo) territory (getting you used to Lantus speak here!) I think the BG day to day can have a noticeable effect on intake/output fluid wise but it doesn't necessarily mean there is a UTI at play. Did your vet today check Elmo's temperature or do a full blood panel to check for increased WBC (white blood cells) which could be indicative of an infection?
 
Do u all think I should go with the full increased dose, a doubling of current , or go with1/4 increase?
 
Beth, my little sugar used to leave a wet concrete slab on the bottom of the litter pan :banghead:. Thankfully now it's clumps as opposed to a slab but some days she pees more than others and I see her visiting her water bowl more some days than others. My girl is generally running higher than Elmo and does far more cliff dives into the blue lagoon (where Elmo has spent most of his time lately) without actually heading into shark (hypo) territory (getting you used to Lantus speak here!) I think the BG day to day can have a noticeable effect on intake/output fluid wise but it doesn't necessarily mean there is a UTI at play. Did your vet today check Elmo's temperature or do a full blood panel to check for increased WBC (white blood cells) which could be indicative of an infection?
No he did a blood panel which showed elevated BUN and CRE but not higher than 3 months ago
 
Elmo had low WBC when checked back in August...that's why they started him so low on methmazole...not sure why WBC low but have not revisited it....one kitty ...many issues...
 
How long since you got back from the vets? Does Elmo get affected by travel/vet stress? Did he eat a different amount today (more/less)?

(Just covering all bases here.)
Hi Mogs....back from vet for about 3hours...loves to ride...hates the vet.....growls and had to be taken to back to draw blood...major white coat syndrome :(....ate the same... is scarfing down right now
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top