Elmo AMPS ...144

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Beth 73, Dec 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Good morning ......Elmo AMPS is 144. ( after giving .25 minus one full drop and getting a 134 +4 last night before bed)......the dance continues...can't wait to sit down with:coffee:;):coffee: and read all Lantus stickies and all your great insight and advice , write notes and get ready for vet on Monday...more importantly, dose for the day ???? Or no dose ????
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  2. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    PS.....feeding in 15minutes.......shoot in 45....
     
  3. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Beth. :bighug:

    Not sure whether 0.25 minus small or full drop might be better. I see his nibs was back in higher numbers by AM+8 yesterday. What does your gut say?


    Mogs
    .
     
  4. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Good morning , Mogs....my gut says that on Thursday, 12/15, he had an AMPS of 136 ,stall for 15 minutes then had a 140 and we elected a No shoot that cycle....
     
  5. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looking at spreadsheet. BRB ...
     
  6. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Would you feel more comfortable skipping?
     
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Are you able to monitor today as normal?
     
  8. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    I am here to monitor...what would be best for Elmo ??
     
  9. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Willing to shoot and monitor or skip .....
     
  10. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    If you can monitor, maybe try 0.25 u minus the fattest drop you can expel without emptying the syringe? You have the food steering down pat.
     
  11. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Kris, as I talked with Mogs that is the gut feel I am getting....then not over react as I check BGs.....what number should I not let it get below for +1.5 ?
     
  12. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    This would have been my suggestion also. :)

    .
     
  13. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    @Critter Mom your thots on .25 minus fat drop ??
     
  14. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Ahh...our technology passed in the airways :):bighug:
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Cross-post! :)
     
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Great minds .... ;)
     
  17. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    @Kris & Teasel @Critter Mom ....:):):):)....gets no better than two out of three of Elmo's godmommas agreeing at the same time:bighug::bighug::bighug: Giving .25 minus fat drop....start monitor at +1.5 and need to start steering at what BG at that time ???
     
  18. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :):):):):):):):):):)o_O
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I'd suggest rather than doing 1 fat drop, instead expel two of what you call 'full' drops, Beth (easier to titrate the dose down this way in case you need to tweak it on later cycles - greater chance of successful repeats of the dose measurement).

    .
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  20. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Here's a rough guide that I find helpful: Elmo's nadir is usually around +4 and, ideally, you want the nadir BG to be about 50% of PS. So at +2 you'd want it to be about 75% of PS and at +1.5, a little higher than that.
     
  21. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Will try ...
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Maybe at mid-range BG levels, Chris, but at lower preshots the drop needs to be less. (e.g. 50% of 144 is 72. :nailbiting: :eek:)

    .
     
  23. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Maybe more coloured water experiments are in order to get you through the dosing challenges until Monday ...
     
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good point. Thank heavens the tag team is on site!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  25. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Like.

    Another trick is to get a piece of paper, coat it with a thin film of oil, wiping off the excess oil so as to make the paper waterproof. Then practice expelling coloured water droplets onto the paper. They should bead up on the paper thus making it easier to determine whether they're consistent in size.


    Mogs
    .
     
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Also slowly and gently twisting the syringe plunger as you ease out the droplets may give you greater control over their size.

    .
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  27. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Mercy....I look back months ago when I was winging it and Elmo was close to or in hypo several times because I had no idea .....you all have empowered me, equipped me ....it's a beautiful thing:bighug:
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  28. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    So Mogs, what BG am I needing to see at +1.5 ????
     
  29. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Waxed paper could work for this.
     
  30. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank u beyond measure to you both...having two of the famous FDMB heavy hitters hovering over Elmo is a gift:bighug::):bighug::)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  31. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    How about 125?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  32. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Sounds good:)
     
  33. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    FYI....my plan is to check hourly unless numbers go south then will do every 30 minutes....will post here first then SS because our desk top can lag on performance...ice /sleet headed our way so don't know how that will affect main computer....ahhh, the joys of rural life ;):):cat:
     
    Critter Mom and Kris & Teasel like this.
  34. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    125 should be high enough to give you plenty of advance notice for food steering.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  35. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Agreed ....going to test +1 and +1.5 then from there ...
     
    Critter Mom and Kris & Teasel like this.
  36. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Fools ... ;)

    :D
    .
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  37. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :bighug::):bighug::):bighug::):bighug::):bighug::):bighug::):bighug::):bighug::):bighug:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  38. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looks like I'm gonna have to back off on the cake and bikkies ... again! :rolleyes: ;)

    .
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  39. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :D:D:D:D:D:D
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  40. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sending Saturday scritches to the Buddha Kitty of Ol' FDMB Town.

    (((Elmo)))

    :cat:

    .
     
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I give good helicopter parent. :woot:

    .
     
  42. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    I absolutely love the word"scratches"
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  43. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    BG at + 1...114... eating a bit right now...usually eats off and on til +1.5
     
  44. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yep! Food steering needed. You can do it, Beth.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  45. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Because of all of you, I know I can :bighug:
     
  46. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Ooh, goodie! I was hoping for this with the reduced dose. :)

    Be sure to test today at +6 and +8 today to see where the dose might be petering out.

    .
     
  47. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Yes mam ....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  48. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +1.5...111....steer or leave be ???
     
  49. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +1.5 ...111... steer or no steer ???
     
  50. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Maybe a little steer, Beth. We had set around 125 as the "safe" number and he's below that and could drop too much before +4.
     
  51. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    :nailbiting:

    I'm having a crisis here: don't know whether to chance a small tsp or wait a little bit longer ...

    Thinking; back in a minute (he's perfectly safe right now, Beth. :) )

    .
     
  52. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looking at spreadsheet.

    Did you give him any early snack on PM cycle of 15 December?

    .
     
  53. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  54. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Is everything OK, Beth???

    :nailbiting:

    .
     
  55. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Ate a little at +1.5.....+2...118...
     
  56. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    All is very well...son stayed the night and got preoccupied with him...:)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  57. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    + 2....118...going to give 1 small t 5 carb...
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  58. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Phew!

    Greetings, son! :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  59. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Just gave small 1 t 5carb snack ....he is acting so well....makes my heart about burst...
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  60. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Best feeling in the world: a perfect blend of love and joy! :D (With a large side of relief!)

    How is Elmo's coat condition? Any changes there?

    .
     
  61. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    My son, Matt, commented on that very thing..how good his fur looked and healthy he appeared:)
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  62. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Elmo's little body is able to use his nutrients better. :)

    .
     
  63. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Snagged a +2.5.... 110...gave 1 t 5carb snack..
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  64. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Amen and amen and thank you to his fairy godmommas!!!!
     
  65. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Please remind me again at what point before + 4 has majority of falling happened ??
     
  66. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Will post all this on SS as soon as computer cooperates :banghead:;)
     
  67. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'm not sure it's carved in stone, Beth. The nadir is a range, probably quite narrow for Vetsulin. Likely most of the drop has finished by +4 but it wouldn't hurt to keep up the monitoring a bit beyond. Are you checking every 30 minutes?
     
  68. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +3....134...no snack since
     
  69. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Kris , I have monitored every 30 up til last check at +3 when I got a + 134 which I am comfy with....was going to wait til + 4 for next check unless u advise otherwise:cat:
     
  70. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Elmo, you little beauty!
    Depends on the cat and the day.

    Elmo seems to have an early nadir (somewhere between +2 and +4 usually).

    .
     
  71. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Have asked Santa to fill my stocking with Alpha Trak strips :):eek::rolleyes:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  72. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Sounds good to me.
     
  73. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    If you want to give his ears a break you could wait till +6 or +7, Beth (feeding during this time same as is normal for his schedule).

    He has a generous safety buffer (c. 60 points).


    Mogs
    .
     
  74. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Now THAT'S a high end Christmas present!! And some people want diamonds or gold ... pffft!
     
  75. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    [​IMG]


    .
     
  76. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Seriously :cat:.....feel like those suckers need locked in a safe somewhere.....mercy..:eek:.....how is your weather, Kris?
     
  77. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Ohhhhh....a bald eagle just flew across our pond !!! :):):)
     
    Kris & Teasel and Critter Mom like this.
  78. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  79. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Santa could also throw in a couple boxes of Forti Flora too...that stuff is like gold bars...my boys would eat cardboard if sprinkled with forti flor:)
     
    Kris & Teasel and Critter Mom like this.
  80. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    We began the day with another snow storm. There's a lull now but it's supposed to start up again, maybe with a little freezing rain overnight tonight to jazz things up ...
     
  81. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Wow...freezing rain is not my favorite at all...we r supposed to get some of that too later tonight plus single digits ...baby stuff compared to the Cold White North ;)
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  82. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Winter is coming.


    .
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  83. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +6.....139...
     
  84. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    BG again at +7.5 ????
     
  85. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    +8 would be OK, Beth. See if the dose is pooping out round then.

    .
     
  86. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Got it ....thank u ,Mogs :bighug:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  87. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I see that everything is under control here. I had to go do grocery shopping, etc. Driving conditions are unpleasant to say the least but I don't have far to go. I live smack dab in the middle of the city.
     
  88. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Kris, so glad u got home safely:)
     
    Critter Mom and Kris & Teasel like this.
  89. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You a fan, @Kris & Teasel?

    .
     
  90. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +8...152...;)
     
  91. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Up 13 points in 2 hours...for what that's worth
     
  92. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    @Chris & China ....hi Chris...hope u and hrs are all snugged in before it gets much more nasty. I was wondering if u could tell me again the name of the u100 with half markings that u get at Walmart ....misplaced that info . Going to vet on Monday to get Elmo changed to Lantus so will need syringes as well. Thank u, Chris. Stay safe and warm:)
     
  93. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Nasty weather is still nasty even in Missouri! ;)
     
  94. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh that's right...we've got hills and hollers to drive to get around and not all are always cleared/plowed.
     
  95. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    "hollers" - love that! :)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  96. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Relion insulin syringes....3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 8mm
     
  97. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Nasty beat me......woke up to nasty....wasn't supposed to nasty until this afternoon but nasty moved in early....luckily where I live, it's pretty much flat from my house to DM's and WalMart so even when it's bad, I can usually get around if I have to
     
  98. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    :joyful:

    Did you see Frosty the Nastyman on your travels, Chris?

    .
     
  99. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Steady enough.

    I wish you could hit on a dose/early cycle snack combo to enable your little Buddha Kitty to drop a bit slower early on and then coast along for a bit longer under 120 in the middle of the cycle.

    Vetsulin schmetsulin. :rolleyes:

    .
     
  100. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Gotta keep at it til Monday :bighug:
     
    Kris & Teasel and Critter Mom like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page