Erratic blood sugars

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Ana & Frosty (GA), Jan 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ana & Frosty (GA)

Ana & Frosty (GA) Well-Known Member

Hello all,
    I am new to this message board. I scrolled through a couple of threads, but did not seem to find anyone with similar questions (there are so many posts, though!), so I figured I would go ahead and ask if anyone had similar problems.

I rescued a diabetic stray cat 2 weeks ago. He is about 8-10 years old, and we don't know anything about his past history. He was one of the "death row" cats in a shelter near me, and after thinking it over 24 hours I realized I just had to get him. I already have 2 cats and a dog all around his age, so I figured, what's another cat? :) Plus I am a physician assistant, so I thought I could handle the insulin part. Anyway, I am currently fostering him with hopes to adopt, but we have issues with his glucose control.

They started him off on Lantus, 1 unit twice per day. I usually give it to him with his feeding at 6a and 6p. I also check his blood sugar twice a day while he is eating, and he just had his glucose curve at the vet on Monday. The glucose curve showed the same thing I was seeing at home - blood sugars all over the place. He can be anywhere from 130 to 450 before his dose and meals at home. In the office, he started off with 140, went down to 120, and 12 hours later he was up to 540! The vet was pretty surprised at the fluctuations, and suggested we switch him to an insulin specifically designed for cats. Now, before I spend another $200 on my adorable foster, I am curious to hear if others had the same issue, and whether or not switching insulins helped?

Any advice with this would be appreciated it!

Fiona & Ruby and Riulake like this.
  2. Red & Rover (GA)

Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

Thank you for rescuing a sugar cat.

What you are seeing is called a "bounce."