Feeding Diabetic and Non-Diabetic Cats - I need help!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by PumpkinsMom, Oct 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PumpkinsMom

PumpkinsMom Member

Hi. I have been reading this forum for a long time and finally joined so I can post. I have four cats. Pumpkin is a 10-ish year old neutered male. He became very sick from pancreatitis about two years ago and became an insulin-dependent diabetic. My other three are all spayed/neutered as well. They are all indoor only. The two other boys (Simon and Charlie) are 12 and 3 and my girl (Adah) is 11-ish. Adah is very allergic to corn and wheat so I have been using corn- and wheat-free foods for several years. I vary the brands because they are picky and will stop eating if fed the same thing repeatedly. I use Halo, Evo, Taste of the Wild, Before Grain, Castor & Pollux, Weruva (canned only) and occasionally Wellness for both canned and dry foods. They free feed on dry food and get wet twice a day.

Pumpkin gets Humulin N twice a day. I don't understand the conversion charts for insulin. Humulin N is U-100. We use U-40 syringes. He takes three units from a U-40 syringe of U-100 insulin. This Pro Zinc was a failure for him and couldn't get below 300. We do not test daily. Our vet does not support daily testing. I take him for a glucose curve every 6-8 weeks at the vet's office.

My vet seriously pushes the Royal Canin Diabetic diet. Pumpkin loves it but only gets it when we let him into the bathroom. Adah can't breathe when she eats it and she tries like heck to sneak into the bathroom. My vet finds it perfectly okay to recommend that Pumpkin be in his own room all the time so he can't get to the other cats' food. I do not find this acceptable. Pumpkin loves playing and cuddling with the other cats and with us. She also pushes the Science Diet M/D canned food. Pumpkin is okay with it. Adah LOVES it. Charlie and Simon don't eat it.