First BG level home test - question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Brittyn, Sep 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Hi all,

    My cat was diagnosed over a month ago as diabetic. I finally got an Alphatrak2 and attempted yesterday - no luck. Tonight, I was able to prick her ear and she ran off before I put the strip directly on her ear, but the blood smeared off on my finger and I got a reading from there of 122. Would this be accurate enough even though it was on my skin? I'm assuming contact with my skin wouldn't affect it.

    Also, should I give her insulin tonight? She normally gets 2.0 units, should I reduce that this time?

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Hi. If she is really 122, you probably do not want to give the shot. That is pretty low, especially on the AlphaTrak.

    I have heard of people getting a drop on a fingernail and testing it. I do not know if it being on your skin impacts the results. It seems that if you had a drop on your finger and tested the top of the drop, that might be a 'cleaner' test than testing a smear. Maybe someone else has some knowledge in this area and can offer some insight.

    It would be helpful if you set up a signature with some basic info such as the type of insulin being given so that the info is available to everyone when you are seeking advice.
     
  3. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Thanks! I updated my signature. So when I say "smear" - it wasn't just rubbed off, it had pooled somewhat and streaked across my finger so I tested the heaviest spot.
     
  4. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    I have actually heard from at least one other member that they would frequently "collect" the blood from the ear with their nail because their cat had a tendency to shake his head before they could get the blood on the strip. I haven't heard of any issues with the BG numbers doing it this way. I'll throw that out there with the caveat that I don't know for sure. :p However, I really don't think there should be an issue (if it had mixed with your blood, I'd definitely say don't use it - but how often do you think that would happen!? :rolleyes:). As for dosing, I agree with FurBabiesMama. I would skip this dose, as it's a rather low number. You can delay, feed, and then recheck in 30 minutes, but I think it would be safer, since you're just starting out home testing, that you skip this dose.
     
  5. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Thank you for your help! I didn't give her insulin last night, and I just tested her at 148 this morning. I don't know how low it should be for me to skip again? She had a couple bites of food right before this one.

    Edit: I'm going to call my vet today to get their opinion too, but they don't open for another hour.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017
  6. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    There are different opinions on the 'no-shoot' number. I have read that, if you are using the AlphaTRAK, and you are new to home testing or will not be home to monitor during the cycle, you should not shoot if it is below 250. (With people meters, it is 200.) The internal medicine specialist I met with yesterday suggested that I not shoot if Mia is 200 or less. Once you have been doing this awhile and keeping the data on testing results and insulin doses, you will be able to make the calls more specific to how your cat reacts. Speaking of the data... it would be extremely helpful both to you and to everyone on here who tries to help you, if you would set up and maintain a spreadsheet and put a link to it in your signature. You will find it to be so valuable.

    Let's talk about the fact that your baby had a 122 at PM pre-shot and then, with no insulin, had an AM pre-shot of 148. That is AWESOME. I would be so happy! :) Keep in mind that the goal is to give the lowest insulin possible to bring your baby into the 'good' numbers but not cause her to go too low. (By the way, I hope you have read up on how to handle it if she does go into the hypo range. You want to be prepared so you do not have to 'freak out'. AlphaTRAK documentation says that 65 is the top of the hypo range (and 250 is the point that is considered high).)

    I hope these low numbers keep showing up for you.
     
  7. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    I'm excited about her numbers, too! I will start keeping track now; she has an appointment scheduled for next Friday but she absolutely hates the vet and they only got half of the curve completed a couple weeks ago (plus, I don't think the numbers are too accurate since she gets so stressed out there!). I'm waiting for a call back from the vet now - decided not to give her any insulin this morning either.
     
  8. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Very nice number after the NS on the 122 :woot:. I would definitely try to stress to the Vet you don't want a curve done at the clinic since she gets super stressed. It would probably result in her numbers being at least 100 points higher and then the Vet wanting to give her more insulin when at home she is showing she doesn't need an increase :cat:.

    I see 3 possible things to happen from here for Corwin:
    1. Heading into remission.
    2. Getting well regulated.
    3. Getting regulated but may still need a much lower dose than 2.0U once the depot drains, and may slide into remission.

    I think all 3 are still great scenarios :D
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg and Brittyn like this.
  9. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Definitely! 2 weeks ago when I talked to the vet, he actually was excited when I told him I was planning on testing at home and recommended the curve be done at home too :) I really love my vet and everybody who works there - they seem to care about animals and not just about $$$. They didn't charge me the full price for the curve last time because they said it wouldn't be fair since it wasn't complete. My family and I have been going to the same clinic since we had our first cat when I was 3 (33 years ago)! It's further away from where I live now but I think it's worth it.

    I like those 3 scenarios too, and hoping most for #1!
     
  10. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Our 2nd or 3rd Vet, who diagnosed Maury, only charged us a small amount when they couldn't get a complete curve from him :). Unfortunately, they were not knowledgeable in treating non-textbook sugar kitties so we (Maury and I) waited to find another Vet. But I kind of just need them for prescription refills of insulin in regards to his diabetes :) and our new Vet is completely OK with that. She never even asked I bring him in for a curve since he was a new patient.

    *Paws crossed for Corwin* :cat:
     
    Brittyn likes this.
  11. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Update: I just tested her about 20 minutes ago and she was at 130! She hasn't eaten a ton today though. I'm going to do more testing tomorrow to provide the vet with her numbers. Thank you for all the encouragement and support here!
     
  12. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Do you have a spreadsheet? I see that there is not a link in your signature.
     
  13. Brittyn

    Brittyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Not quite yet. Haven't had a chance to do that today.
     
  14. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    If you are testing her numbers at home then do the curve at home. No reason to stress her out. Once I started home testing my cat hasn't done a vet curve, I just email a link to her spreadsheet.
     
  15. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Looks like you may have a diet controlled diabetic! If you go 14 days without needing insulin it's official remission. Would you like help setting up a spreadsheet?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page