First dose given but I'm confused...

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Sue (Mo's Mum), Apr 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sue (Mo's Mum)

Sue (Mo's Mum) Member

I've given Mo his first ever dose of insulin but I'm really confused - I'm a total rookie and I'm just not making sense of the numbers.

The vet told me to start straight away with 1.5 units of ProZinc to be given twice a day when he's eating, mid meal. She didn't suggest testing BG, but I thought I should to try to make sense and ensure I don't overdose him! I bought a meter today and thought I'd have a try at a Glucose Curve but I've no idea what I'm doing!

After he had his shot mid meal, he finished the lot then instantly went to his litter tray but must have felt odd as he came out before he'd properly finished (thanks for that Mo!), then wandered around with what looked like a trembling back paw. He then sat down, hunched over and I thought he was going to be sick. (could have been pain re his pancreatitis?). He wasn't sick but he then lay down for a while. He then went to his basket and was curled up. I let him rest for an hour then tested him again.

His BG was 362 mg/dl (20.1 mol/L) when I tested him just before I fed him at 6pm uk time. At +1 he has tested 304 (16.9).

Does this sound right so far? I'm planning to test again at +2.

2. Rachel

Rachel Well-Known Member

Hi Sue! I’m so glad you decided to test at home. It’s the best way to keep our kitties safe and get them regulated!

As for the curve you don’t have to test every hour. Every 2 hours is what most of us do for a curve.

That’s a pretty good drop at +1. A good dose will usually drop them about 50% at nadir (mid cycle). I’d grab the +2 and see what that does. That’s usually a good indication of what the cycle will be like.