Raven cared by Elizabeth
New Member
Hi everyone - my first post although I have spent quite a bit of time jumping around the forum reading as much as I can. And visiting other sites trying to understand it all.
Raven, our office cat, was diagnosed on June 2nd. She looked terrible, had been very thirsty and urinating a lot and her dandruff was worse than ever. Her BG was 360, although blood panel resulted closer to 400. She has no other health conditions, is 15 years old and weighs about 6 lbs. She is a tiny female.
I was sent home with Vetsulin U-40 and Feline MD dry food and couple cans with instructions to give 1 unit twice a day.
4 days later, BG 420 (10hrs after morning shot) - told to increase to 2 units
another 4 days later, BG 460 (10 hrs after morning shot) and had a bout of diarrhea - told to increase to 2.5 units. I dumped all the Feline MD food, bought FF pate foods all around 3-5% carbs and fed her only this food while giving her 2.5 units twice a day.
another 4 days later, BG 110 (4 hrs after morning shot). I told vet tech I stopped Feline MD and switched to FF. She said I need to give her only Feline MD and when I refused she got angry! I asked if I still need to give 2.5 units as soon as I get back to the office and was told yes continue.
4 days after that, BG 166 (10 hrs after morning shot). Was told to continue. I thought I read somewhere I should not give insulin if below 200 so became very uncertain. I called at said I want to see the vet again and not just a vet tech.
So 1 week later I finally got an appt and BG was 27 (3 hrs after morning shot)!!!!! And Raven seemed just fine and didn't show any symptoms. On the other hand the vet and techs looked a little panicked. They tested her 3 times just to be sure. They gave her some food and a vitamin shot. I was told not to give her insulin that evening or the following morning and bring her back in exactly 24 hrs later.
24 hrs later, BG 221. So they tell me give only 1 shot that day, another following morning and come in again 24 hrs later. Reduce to 2 units. I must have had a look on my face as the vet said okay try 1.5 units.
I took her back to the office, gave her treats (freeze dried chicken/no carbs!) and more food, waited about 20 min and gave her only 1 unit.
Next morning, fed her well, waited 20 min and again only gave her 1 unit.
back at vets 24 hrs after last test, BG is 51!!! And I am told no shot this evening, give 1 unit tomorrow morning. She may just need once a day.
I am thinking no more insulin and just monitor her diet and keep an eye on her. Maybe after a week have her tested again. Honestly I don't know what to do, but 4 hours after giving her 1 unit she drops to 51. I am afraid to give her insulin anymore.
Raven, our office cat, was diagnosed on June 2nd. She looked terrible, had been very thirsty and urinating a lot and her dandruff was worse than ever. Her BG was 360, although blood panel resulted closer to 400. She has no other health conditions, is 15 years old and weighs about 6 lbs. She is a tiny female.
I was sent home with Vetsulin U-40 and Feline MD dry food and couple cans with instructions to give 1 unit twice a day.
4 days later, BG 420 (10hrs after morning shot) - told to increase to 2 units
another 4 days later, BG 460 (10 hrs after morning shot) and had a bout of diarrhea - told to increase to 2.5 units. I dumped all the Feline MD food, bought FF pate foods all around 3-5% carbs and fed her only this food while giving her 2.5 units twice a day.
another 4 days later, BG 110 (4 hrs after morning shot). I told vet tech I stopped Feline MD and switched to FF. She said I need to give her only Feline MD and when I refused she got angry! I asked if I still need to give 2.5 units as soon as I get back to the office and was told yes continue.
4 days after that, BG 166 (10 hrs after morning shot). Was told to continue. I thought I read somewhere I should not give insulin if below 200 so became very uncertain. I called at said I want to see the vet again and not just a vet tech.
So 1 week later I finally got an appt and BG was 27 (3 hrs after morning shot)!!!!! And Raven seemed just fine and didn't show any symptoms. On the other hand the vet and techs looked a little panicked. They tested her 3 times just to be sure. They gave her some food and a vitamin shot. I was told not to give her insulin that evening or the following morning and bring her back in exactly 24 hrs later.
24 hrs later, BG 221. So they tell me give only 1 shot that day, another following morning and come in again 24 hrs later. Reduce to 2 units. I must have had a look on my face as the vet said okay try 1.5 units.
I took her back to the office, gave her treats (freeze dried chicken/no carbs!) and more food, waited about 20 min and gave her only 1 unit.
Next morning, fed her well, waited 20 min and again only gave her 1 unit.
back at vets 24 hrs after last test, BG is 51!!! And I am told no shot this evening, give 1 unit tomorrow morning. She may just need once a day.
I am thinking no more insulin and just monitor her diet and keep an eye on her. Maybe after a week have her tested again. Honestly I don't know what to do, but 4 hours after giving her 1 unit she drops to 51. I am afraid to give her insulin anymore.