first timers, kitty dx'd w/IBD and 1month later Diabetes

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by isaac&michelle, Jun 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. isaac&michelle

isaac&michelle New Member

Hello to all, I am a newbie, my wife and I found out a month ago that our boy, Brody, has IBD, started treatment with metrondizole, zantac, metoclopramide, and prednisolone. Things were going good, Brody seemed like he was on the path to recovery, last tuesday he began to not eat, vet rxd an appetite stimulant to see if it helped, no change in appetite, the Mrs, and I began to syringe feed him to make sure he was getting his food. The med he was rxd (mirtazapine) had a side effect of lethargy, and 1 dose of meds lasted 3 day, so we didn't get to worried till day 2 on the meds, and started to show weakness in back legs, rushed him to vca and found out he now has diabetes, likely pred induced, since blood tests one month ago showed no diabetes. My question: Is there anyone out there that has had this combo of issues and what was the out come and how did treatments work? My wife and I love our boy and are dedicated to getting him better, any help/advice is appreciated, thanks and god bless! nailbite_smile

2. PeterDevonMocha

PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

Hi guys, nice to meet you! I don't have any advice for you, because our kitty was not a steroid induced diabetic, which is what it sounds like your kitty is (from the prednisone(sp)). I hope someone is able to come along and help answer your questions shortly, I just didn't want to read this and not even say HI. So hang around for awhile, someone is sure to come by soon.

3. tuckers mom

tuckers mom Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome,

My first question is do you plan on continuing the Pred? Or any steroid? Budesonide may be better if you need to continue steroid use.

Second question, did your vet mention a food trial first to treat the IBD?