Fructosamine test?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Felix and Ron, Jul 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Felix and Ron

    Felix and Ron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Went to a new vet as the other vet still wants Felix on one dose of prozinc per day and wants us to return for glucose test in one month. New vet suggests twice per day and says he will not even perform glucose tests because they are so inaccurate due to stress levels. He suggests a fructosamine test at some point in time which gives a look back at levels up to 30 days. Any input
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Home testing is a safety thing,
    - to make sure it is safe to shoot, based on the collected data showing response to dose at various starting levels
    - to check the nadir for dose effectiveness, often between +5 to +7 hours post-shot

    - - the nadir should remain safely above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer to avoid hypoglycemia
    - to monitor home intervention for slightly low numbers (if the cat is seizing, have someone drive while you give glucose/Karo).
    - to monitor high numbers to evaluate likelihood of diabetic ketoacidosis, in combination with urine or blood ketone testing. DKA is a medical emergency.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page