Fudge PMPS 108 Shoot what ?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Holly and Fudge, Sep 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Don't know what to shoot. I shot a .75 last night from 1.00 and then he was 225 this morning so shot a 1.00. He is 114 at PMPS. ugh. I should have shot a .75 this morning. He ate to and it's not moving.

    Holly
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2016
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    How long ago did he eat Holly?
     
  3. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    45 minutes ago
     
  4. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I tested him at 5 cause he was hungry and fed. Shot due at 6 pm. It was 103. Then tested almost an hour later for shot and 108. Typically he climbs fast. hmmmm
     
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....then that's a "food influenced" number and I wouldn't shoot.....can your shooting schedule wait until it's been 2 hours since he ate, test again and still be able to shoot again 12 hours later?
     
  6. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Yes...so I should feed at 4 ? then shoot at 6 pm ?
     
  7. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Can I shoot him at 7 pm if he goes up to 130 or so. Maybe shoot a .50 ?
     
  8. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You also need to stop changing Fudge's dose around. Lantus craves consistency and every time you change the dose, the depot has to re-stabilize so by changing it all the time, you're just adding to his wonky numbers.

    Since you're feeding some dry, you have to do the Start Low, Go Slow method of dosing, which means holding the dose for a week unless he drops below 90. If he drops below 90, he earns a reduction
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  9. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    His schedule is 6 and 6 ...
     
  10. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I don't know what's wrong with me. I should have stuck with the .75 this morning after he earned it.
     
  11. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    So,

    I will do the .75 tomorrow morning. But two hours after he eats which is 7 pm instead of typical 6 pm and over 130 I think I will shoot a .50. What do you think tonight ?
     
  12. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you want to stay on a 6/6 schedule, you should pick up his food no later than 4....You want that Pre-test number to be without the influence of food

    If you don't feed between 5 and 7, yes you can re-test at 7 and shoot then if he's high enough, but if I were you, I'd try a .75 dose for the next week....unless he drops below 90 again....Just remember, you can't shoot again until at least 6:45am in the morning and then work your way back to 6/6 by shooting 15 minutes early per cycle
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Let's see where he's at when it's 7.....I think I'd stick with the .75 though, but you will need to be prepared in case he goes too low tonight so (depending on where he's at) you may want to get a +1 and +2 to start with so if you need to you can intervene early
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  14. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Okay...that's what I will do..is retest at 7. If he is over 130 I will shoot a .75 as I feel okay with that. And wait till 6:45 and shoot a .75 for 7 days unless he goes under 90.
     
  15. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I will update at 7 pm. Thanks !!!
     
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Good plan!.....I'll try to keep an eye on you at 7 but I think that's my 6pm and that's China's shot time
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  17. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Thank Uuuuuu !!!
     
  18. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    It was 139 at 7 pm. I shot a .75

    So stressful. :eek::eek:
     
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    But it's really nice to see Fudge in those "pancreas healing" numbers!!

    I'd plan on getting a +1 and +2......it's a lot easier to prevent problems than to solve them by waiting too long (of course Fudge may not have any problems at all tonight too!)
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page