Fudge PMPS 146 + 2 57 +3 46, 61 +4 62

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Holly and Fudge, Sep 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Ugh...I shot a .75 now what ?

    Keep checking or feed ?
     
  2. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Holly, I would give Fudge some food right now to slow down this cycle.
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  3. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
  4. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Then test 20 minutes after the food to see if it has raised him up. I would give MC food at this point to get him boasted up.
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  5. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Since it is so early in the cycle, you will need to be diligent with testing him through his nadir to make sure he doesn't fall again after you boast him up. Also, I see where you give YA dry. He will need wet food to boost because dry takes to long to hit the bloodstream. You can make LC food HC by adding a drop or two of honey or syrup.
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  6. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Post again after you test in 20 minutes okay?
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  7. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
  8. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I put honey on his gums
     
  9. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    and he ate half can of fancy feast
     
  10. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Others will drop by, at this point I would mix Karo syrup with some food to bump him up. I have not seen your spreadsheet but if it were Baby, I would put Karo on her gums and then try to control cycle with food.
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  11. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
  12. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Is the 54 his +4?
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  13. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Fudge earned a reduction to .5u . Here is the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky. You'll want to keep testing for a few hours to make sure he stays up on his own.
     
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good and glad that you put some honey on his gums. Get another test 20 mins from eating the FF
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  15. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    He is at 54 at + 3
     
  16. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    54 at + 3
     
  17. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I took 911 off.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  18. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Well done with the honey! If you need to you can mix it in his food like Bobbie said. I could get more into Gus after the gums that way and the LC food gave him something to go on when the honey wore off.
     
  19. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Be careful that you don't let him eat too much right now where he would get full and not eat later if you should need to get more carbs in him. Maybe 2 tsp. of food with a drop or two of syrup or honey. And keep testing.
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You could also try mc food if you have any if he test in the 50's. Oh, and would you add his name to the subject box and the updates as well now that you have recovered from that 46!;)
     
  21. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    And remember to keep testing until you have tests showing he stayed up, that he didn't drop when the HC/ honey wore off, for two hours without being fed:bighug:
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and Tuxedo Mom like this.
  22. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Just tested at 61...Panic mode. I think he must of got 1/8 tsp honey and a can of fancy feast. He was eating the fancy feast so fast ?? But just had a can earlier. Not like him.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  23. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Holly so glad you caught the low numbers! keep on doing what you are doing as he hasn't hit nadir yet and we don't want him to drop again. You did amazing getting him back up. :)
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  24. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    It's ok what you did letting him eat that much, you did what you had to do right then in that moment. You will do it a bit diffferently next time because you will know having done this today that you can!:bighug::bighug::) His low numbers are what makes him hungry. You did fine! (I don't even want to admit to how much sugar Gus got one episode..but it involved massive amounts of Karo, Honey AND HC food, with LC just for good measure my gall bladder ached just thinking of what I put into his poor system..learned a bit tho).
    61 is a nice bump! Remember Keep testing until he stays up without feeding:bighug: really well done!
    Isn't it amazing how you can catch that drop early because of testing, and intervene and then apply the brakes?!
    Again, Well done. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  25. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Thanks !!! Everyone. He is sitting in the kitchen waiting to be fed again. He already had 2 cans of fancy feast and syrup...
     
  26. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    I would hold off on feeding for a few to see if he stays up on his own. Also, could you update the title line so we know he's out of the 40's?
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  27. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    This made me chuckle!
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  28. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Instead of pancakes and syrup fancy feast and syrup
     
  29. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    62

    41 minutes ago he was a 61 ...
     
    Gussie's mom (GA) likes this.
  30. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Haha! Too funny..it could be a joint breakfast..bite for me...bite for you...
    Could happen with enough experience with syrup!;)
    Anti-jinx!!!:woot:
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  31. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    That's 1 down without dropping, one carb'untainted test! Three more to go right?! Then you breathe and get to not test as often! Woohoo!
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  32. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I love that term, and thanks to @Tuxedo Mom for that one! Glad Fudge is holding his own now. As Karen said, I would hold off feeding anymore right now to see if he is going to surf on his own.
     
  33. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Otherwise you get to keep resetting that 2hr clock! :woot:
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  34. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    He went upstairs to bed. I didn't feed again...I will check at 12 and 2 ...thanks everyone !!
     
  35. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    71 at + 5
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  36. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Great job! Keep surfing Fudge.

    Marilyn and Polly
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  37. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    He is going up...He has been sleeping all day. Seems so tired poor guy.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  38. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Pretty, gentle rise in numbers. That means you did a really good job catching that low and gently putting on the brakes, rather than slamming them on and sending his numbers soaring ( been there done that:blackeye:)
    I think it was @Bobbie And Bubba who described it that way? Really gave a great visual that helps me get the process.
    :bighug::bighug:
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
  39. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Thank u !
     
  40. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I think it was @Gill & George who described it that way and it is a great visual. I too am a visual learner.
     
  41. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    He is dropping from 114 two hours ago to 109 now
     
  42. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I have to feed him then wait 2 hours to shoot
     
  43. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I don't think I can take credit for that one.:)
    It is a good visual though, I think it sounds like something @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey would say.
    Those two numbers are basically the same, looks like fudge is cruising.

    We usually don't feed after about +6 as it can put the brakes on the insulin and see kitty run high into pmps. If you don't feel comfortable not feeding then just give him a tiny amount. Those numbers are fine.

    ETA we don't usually feed after +6 unless the numbers demand it. The numbers for fudge are totally ok.
     
  44. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    He typically eats lunch at + 6....But slept through it so just gave him a quarter of a fancy feast small can. He typically will eat the whole thing. He is due for his shot in 2 hours so hopefully won't influence the numbers too much. He went back to bed. Very tired.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  45. Gussie's mom (GA)

    Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Found who it was..and the winner is....
    @Wendy&Neko !!
    Wendy&Neko said:
    Look at all that lovely blue on Spot's SS. :cool::cool: What a good boy Spot, best birthday present he could give.

    With feeding the curve, you might try feeding low carb, or mayb higher low carb (8-9%) instead of the gravy. You want to slow him down with a tap on the brakes, instead of slamming them down with HC. Save the gravy for low numbers (lower greens) or really fast drops. When you first see those green/low blue numbers, feeding a tsp or two of low carb every hour can help them to surf there. Having said that, there's probably not a person here who didn't over carb the first time their kitty got clost to normal BG numbers. :p

    Part of what you are doing now is learning how carb sensitive Spot is, and at what point in the cycle. you need what carbs. ECID, some cats only need a few extra carbs, some need a lot. Take good notes on quantity and amount of carbs you feed if you are trying to steer, and you will start to see a pattern. Also, the point in the cycle can be important. When the insulin is waning in the back half of the cycle, you usually don't need as many carb as the front half when it first onsets.
     
  46. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Not me who came up with that analogy. @Jill & Alex (GA) used it on Neko's condo over 4 years ago. It's a good visual.

    Congrats on the reduction! Awesome surf today Fudge. :D
     
  47. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good detective work, Les!
     
  48. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I ended up giving regular chicken and beef fancy feast. Had no gravy on hand and probably 1/16 th tsp of honey. Maybe the grave kept him from gping up fast. .
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
  49. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I fed him 1/4 of a can of FF at 4:30. tested at 5:30 and was 160. At 6:30 165 so I shot a .50.
     
  50. Holly and Fudge

    Holly and Fudge Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    I wonder how this night will go...at .50

    Fed 3/4 can of FF with .50 and dropped from 165 to 127 an hour later.
     
  51. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Just stay diligent and glad that you gave him some food to slow him down. The bigger depot could be at play here. Hope you will be able to get some rest tonight.
     
    Holly and Fudge likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page